Supplementary submission to the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters Concerning an Alternative layout of Senate ballot paper

On reviewing my submission dated 4/7/02 I felt that there was a need for some more emphasis on the importance of revising the layout of the Senate ballot paper to make voting fairer, as recommended in my submission to the Inquiry into the 1998 election.

I have therefore attached a mockup of the 2001 Tasmanian Senate ballot paper using my proposed layout. It shows how up to 30 candidates can easily be fitted onto an A4 sized sheet without having to lump ungrouped candidates who may have directly opposing policies together in the same column. In this case I have placed the names in the same order they appeared on the actual ballot paper, but in practice the ungrouped individuals would all go into the draw and may appear anywhere in the order.

This layout would still allow a 'left of the line' or 'right of the line' vote although, as my submission to the inquiry into the 1998 election stated, a 'left of the line' vote should require boxes to be filled in for all parties/groups.

To maximise fairness these measures should, as I originally stated, be combined with rotation, or better still full randomisation, of positions for both parties and candidates within parties. This would probably require a bar code on each paper so that the data entry operators could key in the numbers from top to bottom and the computer could then allocate them to the correct candidates. The results would then represent the true wishes of the electors rather than those of party power-brokers.

Eric Lockett

9/07/02

Joint Standing	Committee on Electoral Matters
Submission No.	(36
	917102
Secretary	Rahi

TASMANIA FIRST PARTY	CRACK Merilyn
	JACKSON David
	PRESSER John
HOPE PARTY AUSTRALIA	BRISTOW James Tate
	PETHERBRIDGE-de TISSERA Shamara
PAULINE HANSON'S ONE NATION	BOAG Bronwyn
	STOKES Peter
GROUP D	BONNER Stephen
	HOWARD Geoff
AUSTRALIAN GREENS	
	BROWN Bob
LIBERAL	CALVERT Paul
	WATSON John
	COLBECK Richard
	PARRY Stephen
GROUP G	BAINBRIDGE Alex
	CLEARY Sarah
AUSTRALIAN DEMOCRATS	BUTLER Debbie
	TOOHEY Brendan
AUSTRALIAN LABOR PARTY	MACKAY Sue
	SHERRY Nick
	BILYK Catryna
LIBERALS FOR FORESTS	PULLINGER Peter
	THOMAS Michael
REPUBLICAN PARTY OF AUSTRALIA	CONSANDINE Peter
	LAWATSCH Bert
CITIZENS ELECTORAL COUNCIL	LARNER Rob
	MARMARINOS John
	LANE Helen