## Papers on Parliament

# Lectures in the Senate Occasional Lecture Series, and other papers

Number 55

February 2011

Published and printed by the Department of the Senate Parliament House, Canberra ISSN 1031–976X Published by the Department of the Senate, 2011

ISSN 1031-976X

*Papers on Parliament* is edited and managed by the Research Section, Department of the Senate.

Edited by Paula Waring

All editorial inquiries should be made to:

Assistant Director of Research Research Section Department of the Senate PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Telephone: (02) 6277 3164

Email: research.sen@aph.gov.au

#### To order copies of Papers on Parliament

On publication, new issues of *Papers on Parliament* are sent free of charge to subscribers on our mailing list. If you wish to be included on that mailing list, please contact the Research Section of the Department of the Senate at:

Telephone: (02) 6277 3074

Email: research.sen@aph.gov.au

Printed copies of previous issues of *Papers on Parliament* may be provided on request if they are available. Past issues are available online at:

http://www.aph.gov.au/Senate/pubs/pops/index.htm

### **Contents**

Parliament, Political Ethics and National Integrity Systems  Charles Sampford	1
Elections, Money and Free Speech in the United States Diana Dwyre	33
The Pryor Perspective: Sharply to the Point <i>Kathleen M. Burns</i>	55
The Disillusionment of Sir John Downer John Bannon	71
Square Peg in a Square Hole: Australia's Parliament House Andrew Hutson	89
Minority Government: Is the House of Representatives Finally Catching Up With the Senate? <i>Scott Brenton</i>	117
Strengthening the British House of Commons: The Unexpected Reforms of 2010  Meg Russell	135
The Senate Committee System: Historical Perspectives Rosemary Laing	159

#### **Contributors**

**Charles Sampford** is Director of the Institute for Ethics, Governance and Law, a joint initiative of the United Nations University, Griffith University, Queensland University of Technology and the Australian National University.

**Diana Dwyre** is Professor of Political Science at California State University, Chico, USA. She was the 2009–10 Fulbright ANU Distinguished Chair of American Politics.

**Kathleen M. Burns** is a Washington, DC-based journalist and academic and a former member of the Australian Parliamentary Press Gallery.

**John Bannon** is an Adjunct Professor in the Adelaide University Law School. He was Premier of South Australia from 1982 to 1992. His biography of Sir John Downer, *Supreme Federalist*, was published in 2009.

**Andrew Hutson** is an academic in the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning, University of Melbourne.

**Scott Brenton** is a lecturer in politics and public policy at the University of Melbourne and was the 2009 Australian Parliamentary Fellow.

**Meg Russell** is Reader in British and Comparative Politics and Deputy Director of the Constitution Unit, University College, London. She was specialist adviser to the Select Committee on Reform of the House of Commons which designed the 2010 reforms.

**Rosemary Laing** is the Clerk of the Senate. She is the editor of *Annotated Standing Orders of the Australian Senate*, published in 2009.