## **Contributors**

**Scott Bennett** has been a Research Specialist in the Politics and Public Administration Section of the Parliamentary Library since 1999.

**Simon Evans** is Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies and a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law at the University of Melbourne. **Carolyn Evans** is an Associate Professor and Deputy Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies at the University of Melbourne.

**Meg Russell** is a Senior Research Fellow at the Constitution Unit, School of Public Policy, University College, London.

**Karen Middleton** is President of the Parliament House Press Gallery, and Chief Political Correspondent and Canberra Bureau Chief for SBS Television.

**Colin Hughes** was the first Australian Electoral Commissioner (1984–89). He is an Emeritus Professor of Political Science at the University of Queensland.

**Paul Reynolds** is a Reader in Political Science at the University of Queensland.

**Elizabeth Kwan** was formerly a senior researcher at Parliament House, Canberra, and now works as a historian in Darwin.