## Appendix 9

Year	Number <sup>1</sup>	Authority
1901	7	Constitution, s. 65
1915	8	Ministers of State Act 1915
1917	9	Ministers of State Act 1917
1935	10	Ministers of State Act 1935
1938	11	Ministers of State Act 1938
1941	19	Ministers of State Act 1941 <sup>2</sup>
1951	20	Ministers of State Act 1951 <sup>3</sup>
1956	22	Ministers of State Act 1956
1964	25	Ministers of State Act 1964
1967	26	Ministers of State Act 1967
1971	27	Ministers of State Act 1971
1987	30	Ministers of State Amendment Act (No. 2) 1987
2000	42 4	Ministers of State and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2000

## NUMBER OF MINISTERS—STATUTORY VARIATIONS

1 This figure refers to Ministers of State in terms of ss. 64–66 of the Constitution—that is, appointed to administer a department of State. In earlier years Executive Councillors were sometimes appointed as 'Ministers' who did not administer a department—e.g. 'Minister without Portfolio' or 'Minister in charge of' certain responsibilities. The Vice President of the Executive Council did not administer a department until the early 1930s.

2 The number of Ministers had been previously increased to 12 by a regulation under the National Security Act (H.R. Deb. (24.6.41) 322-3). The *Ministers of State Act 1941* increased the number of Ministers to 19 as a special provision during the war; this provision was repealed and the Act amended retaining the number at 19 by the *Ministers of State Act 1946*.

3 The consolidated Ministers of State Act 1952 retained the number at 20.

4 Ministers designated as Parliamentary Secretaries not to exceed 12 and those not so designated not to exceed 30.