THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 14.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

THURSDAY, 27th JULY, 1922.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Joint Committee of Public Accounts—Report.—Mr. Fowler, Chairman of the Joint Committee of Public Accounts, brought up the following Report from the Committee:—

War Service Homes Commission-Final Report on.

Ordered to be printed.

3. PAPERS.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—

Sugar—Agreements, &c., between the Government of the Commonwealth and the Government of Queensland with regard to Sugar Crops from 1915 to 1922 inclusive.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Defence Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1922, Nos. 97, 98, 99, 100.

4. Postal Charges—Reduction of.—Mr. Bowden moved, pursuant to notice, That, in the opinion of this House, the time has arrived to reduce the postal charges within the Commonwealth.

Mr. Poynton moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 26.		Noes, 18.	
Mr. Bamford Mr. Bayley Mr. Bell Mr. Blundell Mr. Bruce Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Corser Mr. Foley Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Greene Mr. Groom Mr. Higgs Mr. Hill	Mr. Lamond Mr. Lister Mr. Mackay Mr. Marks Mr. Earle Page Mr. Poynton Mr. Prowse Mr. Rodgers Sir Granville Ryrie Mr. Wienholt Tellers: Mr. Marr	Mr. Blakeley Mr. Bowden Mr. Brennan Mr. Austin Chapman Mr. Charlton Mr. Considine Mr. Fenton Mr. Fleming Mr. Gabb Mr. Lavelle	Mr. Lazzarini Mr. McGrath Mr. Parker Moloney
Mr. Hughes	Mr. Story		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for Thursday next.

5. Postfonement of Business.—Ordered—That the consideration of Notices of Motion, General Business, Nos. 2 and 3 be postfoned until 10th August next, No. 4 until 24th August next, and No. 5 until 14th September next.

F.4510.

27th July, 1922,

6. ELECTORAL DIVISIONS OF NEW SOUTH WALES—PROPOSED REDISTRIBUTION.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Groom-That the House of Representatives approves of the distribution of the State of New South Wales into electoral divisions as proposed by Messrs. J. Broughton, 'S. Irwin, and H. A. Smith, the Distribution Commissioners for the purpose of distributing the said State into divisions, in their report laid before Parliament on the 29th day of June, 1922, and that the names of the divisions. suggested in the report and indicated in red on the maps referred to therein be adopted except that the name "Barton" be substituted for "Kogarah," and the name "Reid" for "Granville"— Mr. Earle Page moved, as an amendment, That all the words after "That" be omitted with a view

to inserting the following words in place thereof :-"consideration of the approval of the distribution of the several States into electoral divisions as proposed by the several Distribution Commissioners be postponed pending the Government bringing in a Bill to amend the Representation Act 1905 so as to provide either-

- (1) That for the purpose of determining the number of Members of the House of Representatives to be chosen in the several States the following procedure shall be followed:-
 - (a) A quota shall be ascertained by dividing the number of people of the Commonwealth, as shown by the certificate (for the time being in force) of the Chief Electoral Officer, by twice the number of Senators plus one.
 - (b) The number of Members to be chosen in each State shall, subject to the Constitution, be determined by dividing the number of the people of the State, as shown by the certificate (for the time being in force) of the Chief Electoral Officer, by the quota; and if on such division there is a remainder greater than one-half the quota, one more Member shall be chosen in the State, or

(2) for the adoption of such other form of determining the number of Members of the House of Representatives to be chosen in the several States as shall (subject to the Constitution) ensure the most equitable representation in proportion to their people,"

Debate continued

Question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the Question—put.

The House divided—

Ayes, 25.		Noes, 24.	
Mr. Bamford Mr. Bayley Mr. Bell Mr. Blundell Mr. Bowden Mr. Bruce Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Chanter Mr. Austin Chapman Mr. Corser Mr. Foley Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Francis Mr. Greene	Sir Granville Ryrie	Mr. Anstey Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Charlton Mr. Considine Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Fleming Mr. Gabb Mr. Gibson Mr. Hill Mr. Lavelle Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Lister	Mr. Mahony Mr. McGrath Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Earle Page Mr. Pratten Mr. Scullin Mr. Stewart Mr. Watkins Mr. Wienholt Tellers: Mr. Fenton Mr. Prowse

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Question—That the motion be agreed to—proposed.

Mr. Austin Chapman moved, as an amendment, That the following words be added to the motion:— "and the name 'Eden-Monaro' for 'Monaro,' and the name 'Illawarra' for 'Werriwa'."

And the amendment having been, by leave, divided into two parts—

Question—That the following words be added to the motion:—"and the name 'Eden-Monaro' for 'Monaro',"-put and passed.

Question—That the following words be added to the motion:—"and the name 'Illawarra' for 'Werriwa',"-proposed.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and negatived.

Mr. Considing moved, as an amendment, That the following words be added to the motion: -- "and the name 'Sturt' for 'Darling'."

Debate ensued.

Question—put and negatived.

Question, as amended, viz. :- That the House of Representatives approves of the distribution of the State of New South Wales into electoral divisions as proposed by Messrs. J. Broughton, S. Irwin, and H. A. Smith, the Distribution Commissioners for the purpose of distributing the said State into divisions, in their report laid before Parliament on the 29th day of June, 1922, and that the names of the divisions suggested in the report and indicated in red on the maps referred to therein be adopted except that the name "Barton" be substituted for "Kogarah," the name "Reid" for "Granville", and the name "Eden-Monaro" for "Monaro"—proposed.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Hughes moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question---put and passed.

And then the House, at seventeen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Atkinson, Mr. Burchell, Mr. J. H. Catts, Mr. Gregory, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Jowett, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Makin, Mr. Mathews, Mr. McWilliams, Mr. Nicholls, Mr. Riley, and Mr. Wise.

WALTER A. GALE,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.