1920-21.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 119.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

THURSDAY, 14TH APRIL, 1921.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. ADJOURNMENT-MOTION FOR PURPOSE OF DISCUSSION .- Mr. Jowett rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The excessive and crushing rates of ocean freight now being charged upon the exportable products of Australia".
 - Mr. Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly-

Mr. Jowett moved, That the House do now adjourn.

- Mr. Jowett not having, in compliance with Standing Order No. 39, concluded his speech within thirty minutes, the honorable Member was, by leave of the House, allowed to continue his speech for five minutes.
- Debate ensued.

Question-put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 32.		Noes, 30.	
Mr. Anstey Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Charlton Mr. Considine Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Fenton Mr. Fleming Mr. Fowler Mr. Gibson Mr. Gregory Mr. Hill Mr. Lavelle Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Mahony Mr. Makin Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Mathews Mr. McGrath Mr. McWilliams Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Nicholls Mr. Earle Page Mr. Prowse Mr. Riley Mr. Ryan Mr. Stewart Mr. Tudor Mr. Watkins Mr. West <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Jowett Mr. James Page	Mr. Atkinson Mr. Bamford Mr. Bayley Mr. Bell Mr. Bhundell Mr. Bowden Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Chanter Sir Joseph Cook Mr. Corser Mr. Foley Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Greene Mr. Groom Mr. Higgs Mr. Hughes	Mr. Jackson Mr. Lamond Mr. Lister Mr. Mackay Mr. Marks Mr. Marks Mr. Marr Mr. Maxwell Mr. Poynton Mr. Rodgers Sir Granville Ryrie Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Wise Tellers: Mr. Burchell Mr. Story
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.			

The House, accordingly, at twenty-eight minutes to five o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow, at eleven o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT .-- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except-Sir Robert Best, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Austin Chapman, Mr. Cunningham, Mr. Gabb, Mr. McDonald, Mr. Watt, and Mr. Wienholt.

.

WALTER A. GALE,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Printed and Published for the GOVERNMENT of the COMMONWEALTH of AUSTRALIA by ALBERT J. MULLETT, Government Printer for the State of Victoria.