THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

No. 52.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WEDNESDAY, 4TH AUGUST, 1920.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Absence of Mr. Speaker.—The Clerk, at the Table, having informed the House that Mr. Speaker was unavoidably absent, the Chairman of Committees took the Chair as Deputy-Speaker, and read Prayers.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Electoral Act and Referendum (Constitution Alteration) Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1920, No. 126.

Defence Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1920, Nos. 111, 123.

Public Service Act—Appointment of E. J. Dowling, Home and Territories Department.

Shale Oil Bounty Act—Return for 1919-20.

4. OBJECTION TO MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER'S RULING.—The Order of the Day having been read for the consideration of the motion by Mr. Nicholls, at the previous sitting—That Mr. Deputy-Speaker's ruling—that on the motion of the Prime Minister—"That on each sitting day, unless otherwise ordered, Government Business shall take precedence of General Business"—the amendment moved to insert "save one" after "day" and to add at the end of the motion "and that there shall be an additional sitting day on Tuesday of each week"—was out of order—be disagreed to—

Debate ensued. Question put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 18.		Noes 30.	
Mr. Brennan Mr. Considine Mr. Cunningham Mr. Fenton Mr. Gabb Mr. Lavelle Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Mathews	Mr. McDonald Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Nicholls Mr. Riley Mr Tudor Mr. West Tellers: Mr. Blakeley Mr. Mahony	Mr. Bamford Mr. Bell Mr. Blundell Mr. Bowden Mr. Bruce Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Austin Chapman Sir Joseph Cook Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Fleming Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Gibson Mr. Greene Mr. Higgs Mr. Hill Mr. Hughes	Mr. Lamond Mr. Lister Mr. Livingston Mr. Marks Mr. Marr Mr. Maxwell Mr. Poynton Mr. Prowse Mr. Rodgers Sir Granville Ryrie Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Wise Tellers: Mr. Burchell Mr. Story

And so it was negatived.

5. INDUSTRIAL PEACE BILL—DECLARATION AS URGENT BILL—LIMITATION OF DEBATE.—On the calling on of the Order of the Day for the resumption of the debate on the second reading of the Industrial Peace Bill—

Mr. Hughes having declared that the Bill was an Urgent Bill—Question—That the Bill be considered an Urgent Bill—put.

F.255,

The House divided-

Ayes, 31.		Noes, 19.	
Mr. Bamford Mr. Bell Mr. Blundell Mr. Bowden Mr. Bruce Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Austin Chapman Sir Joseph Cook Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Fleming Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Gibson Mr. Greene Mr. Gregory Mr. Higgs Mr. Hill Mr. Hughes And so it was resolved in	Mr. Lamond Mr. Lister Mr. Livingston Mr. Marks Mr. Marr Mr. Maxwell Mr. Poynton Mr. Prowse Mr. Rodgers Sir Granville Ryrie Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Wise Tellers: Mr. Burchell Mr. Story	Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Charlton Mr. Considine Mr. Cunningham Mr. Gabb Mr. Lavelle Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Mahony Mr. Makin Mr. Mathews	Mr. McDonald Mr. Nicholls Mr. Riley Mr. Tudor Mr. Watkins Mr. West Tellers: Mr. Fenton Mr. Parker Moloney

Mr. Hughes then moved, That the time allotted shall be-

(a) for the second reading of the Bill, until 3.30 p.m. on Friday, the 6th August;

(b) for the Committee stage of the Bill, to end of Part III. until 6 p.m., on Thursday, the 12th

(c) for the remainder of the Committee stage of the Bill, until 10 p.m. on Thursday, the 12th August.

(d) for the remaining stages of the Bill, until 10.30 p.m., on Thursday, the 12th August.

The time for the debate on the motion with regard to the allotment of time having expired— Question-put.

The House divided—

Ayes, 32.

3.7	3.0	
Noes.	16	

Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Charlton	Mr. Parker Moloney
Mr. Bamford	Mr. Jowett	Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Nicholls
Mr. Bell	Mr. Lamond	Mr. Gabb	Mr. Tudor
Mr. Blundell	Mr. Lister	Mr. Lavelle	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Marks	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. West
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Marr	Mr. Mahony	1111. 11 050
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Makin	Tellers:
Mr. Austin Chapmar		Mr. Mathews	Mr. Blakeley
Sir Joseph Cook	Mr. Prowse	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Riley
Mr. Robert Cook	Mr. Rodgers		,
Mr. Fleming	Sir Granville Ryrie	·	
Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Laird Smith		
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Wise		
Mr. Greene			
Mr. Gregory	Tellers:	•	
Mr. Higgs	Mr. Burchell		
Mr. Hill	Mr. Story	·	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Debate on the motion, That the Bill be now read a second time, resumed. Mr. Atkinson moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for to-morrow.

6. Adjournment.—Sir Joseph Cook moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at eighteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey*, Mr. Bayley, Sir Robert Best, Mr. J. H. Catts, Mr. Corser, Mr. Groom, Mr. Hay, Mr. Jackson, Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Mackay, Mr. Mahon, Mr. McGrath, Mr. McWilliams, Mr. Earle Page, Mr. James Page*, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Watt*, and Mr. Wienholt.

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.