83

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 30.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

THURSDAY, 18TH JUNE, 1914.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Department of Home Affairs-

Lands Acquisition Act-

Land acquired under, at-

Sherwood, Queensland—For Postal purposes.

Toowoomba, Queensland--For Defence purposes.

Unley, South Australia—For Postal purposes.

3. Supply [Supply Bill].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply:

(In the Committee.)

Consideration resumed of the following motion of Sir John Forrest:—That a sum not exceeding Three million and sixty thousand and twenty-six pounds be granted to His Majesty for or towards defraying the services of the year ending 30th June, 1915.

Debate continued.

Mr. Hughes moved an amendment, That the sum proposed be reduced by £1.

Question—That the sum proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided-

$\mathbf{A}\mathbf{y}$	es, 30.	Noes,	31.
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Abbott	Mr. Kelly
Mr. Archibald	Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Kendell
Mr. Bamford	Mr. Mathews	Mr. James Bennett	Mr. Manifold
Mr. Brennan	Mr. McDonald	Sir Robert Best	Mr. Orchard
Mr. Burchell	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Boyd	Mr. Palmer
Mr. Burns	Mr. Sharpe	Mr. Chapman	Mr. Patten
Mr. Carr	Mr. Laird Smith	Mr. Conroy	Mr. Pigott
Mr. Catts	Mr. Thomas	Mr. Joseph Cook	Mr. Rodgers
Mr. Charlton	Mr. Tudor	Mr. Falkiner	Mr. Sampson
Mr. Dankel	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Fleming	Mr. Sinclair
Mr. Fenton	Mr. West	Sir John Forrest	Mr. Bruce Smith
Mr. Finlayson	Mr. Yates	Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Wynne
Mr. Fisher		Mr. Glynn	
Mr. Hannan	Tellers.	Mr. Gregory	
Mr. Higgs	Mr. Page	Mr. Groom	Tellers.
Mr. Howe	Mr. Riley	Mr. Hans Irvine	Mr. Greene
		Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. John Thomson

And so it was negatived.

And the Committee having given leave-

Mr. Burns moved an amendment, That the sum proposed be reduced by Ten shillings.

Question—That the sum proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

F. 3339.

The Committee divided-

∆ yes, 3 1.		Noes, 31.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Abbott Mr. Kelly	
Mr. Archibald	Mr. Mathews	Mr. Atkinson Mr. Kendell	
Mr. Bamford	Mr. McDonald	Mr. James Bennett Mr. Manifold	
Mr. Brennan	Mr. McGrath	Sir Robert Best Mr. Orchard	
Mr. Burchell	Mr. O'Malley	Mr. Boyd Mr. Palmer	
Mr. Burns	Mr. Sharpe	Mr. Chapman Mr. Patten	
Mr. Carr	Mr. Laird Smith	Mr. Conroy Mr. Pigott	
Mr. Catts	Mr. Thomas	Mr. Joseph Cook Mr. Rodgers	
Mr. Charlton	Mr. Tudor	Mr. Falkiner Mr. Sampson	
Mr. Dankel	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Fleming Mr. Sinclair	
Mr. Fenton	Mr. West	Sir John Forrest Mr. Bruce Smith	
Mr. Finlayson	Mr. Yates	Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Wynne	
Mr. Fisher		Mr. Glynn	
Mr. Hannan	·	Mr. Gregory	
Mr. Higgs	Tellers.	Mr. Groom Tellers.	
Mr. Howe	Mr. Page	Mr. Hans Irvine - Mr. Greene	
Mr. Hughes	Mr. Riley	Mr. W. H. Irvine Mr. John Thomson	

The number for the "Ayes" and the "Noes" being equal, the Chairman gave his casting vote with the "Noes."

And so it was negatived.

Debate on main question continued.

Progress to be reported and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Fowler reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. Adjournment.—Sir John Forrest moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow, at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Livingston, Mr. Mahon, Mr. McWilliams, Mr. Poynton, Colonel Ryrie, Mr. Stumm, and Mr. Webster.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.