THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 21.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

THURSDAY, 28TH MAY, 1914.

- The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Removal. of Mace.—Mr. Higgs, having obtained leave to make a statement, informed the House that he alone was responsible for the improper removal of the Mace during the temporary adjournment on Friday last. He expressed regret and apologized to the House for his action.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Department of External Affairs-

Northern Territory-

Crown Lands Ordinance 1912-

Regulations-

Charge for Preparation of Leases.

Surrender of Leases—No. 22.

Regulations Amended-No. 8 and No. 16.

Northern Territory Acceptance Act, Marine Board and Navigation Act (South Australia) and South Australian Railway Commissioners Act—Marine, Harbor, and Railway—Jetty Regulations.

4. GOVERNMENT PREFERENCE PROHIBITION BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a third time—

Debate resumed.

Question—put.
The House divided—

Ayes, 36.		Noes, 36.	
Mr. Abbott	Mr. Kendell	Mr. Anstey	Mr. Mahon
Mr. Ahern	Mr. Livingston	Mr. Archibald	Mr. W. Maloney
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Manifold	Mr. Arthur	Mr. Mathews
Mr. James Bennett	Mr. McWilliam's	Mr. Bamford	Mr. McDonald
Sir Robert Best	Mr. Orchard	Mr. Brennan	Mr. McGrath
Mr. Boyd	Mr. Palmer	Mr. Burchell	Mr. O'Malley
Mr. Chapman	Mr. Patten	Mr. Burns	Mr. Poynton
Mr. Joseph Cook	Mr. Pigott	Mr. Carr	Mr. Sharpe
Mr. Falkiner	Mr. Rodgers	Mr. Catts	Mr. Laird Smith
Mr. Fleming	Colonel Ryrie	Mr. Charlton	Mr. Thomas
Sir John Forrest	Mr. Sampson	Mr. Dankel	Mr. Tudor
Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Sinclair	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Fowler	Mr. Bruce Smith	Mr. Finlayson	Mr. Webster
Mr. Glynn	Mr. Stumm	Mr. Fisher	Mr. West
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Wynne	Mr. Hannan	Mr. Yates
Mr. Groom		Mr. Higgs	
Mr. Hans Irvine	Tellers.	Mr. Howe	Tellers.
Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Greene	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Page
Mr. Kelly	Mr. John Thomson	Mr. Jensen	Mr. Riley
The number for the "Aves" and the "Noes" being equal Mr Speaker gave his casting yets with			

The number for the "Ayes" and the "Noes" being equal, Mr. Speaker gave his casting vote with the "Ayes."

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. -Bill read a third time.

F.3339.

5. Point of Order-Order of Business.—Mr. Joseph Cook rising to move Notice of Motion No. 1, Government Business.—

Mr. McDonald objected on the ground that more than two hours having elapsed from the time fixed for the meeting of the House, the Orders of the Day should be proceeded with under Standing Order No. 119.

Mr. Speaker upheld the objection.

6. Postponement of Orders of the Day.—Mr. Joseph Cook moved, That the Orders of the Day be postponed until after consideration of the Notices of Motion 1, 2, and 3, Government Business.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Catts moved the following amendment:—After "Orders of the Day" insert "2 and 3 be postponed, and Order of the Day No. 4 be taken into consideration to permit of anomalies in the Tariff being considered forthwith."

Debate ensued.

Question - That the words proposed to be inserted be so inserted - put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 31.		Noes, 32.	
	•		
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Mathews	Mr. Ahern	Mr. Livingston
Mr. Archibald	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Manifold
Mr. Arthur	Mr. McGrath	Mr. James Bennett	Mr. McWilliams
Mr. Bamford	Mr. O'Malley	Sir Robert Best	Mr. Orchard
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Sharpe	Mr. Boyd	Mr. Palmer
Mr. Burns	Mr. Laird Smith	Mr. Chapman	Mr. Patten
Mr. Catts	Mr. Spence	Mr. Joseph Cook	Mr. Pigott
Mr. Charlton	Mr. Thomas	Mr. Falkiner	Mr. Rodgers
Mr. Dankel	Mr. Tudor	Sir John Forrest	Colonel Ryrie
Mr. Fenton	Mr. Watkins	Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Sampson
Mr. Finlayson	Mr. Webster	Mr. Fowler	Mr. Bruce Smith
Mr. Fisher	Mr. West	Mr. Glynn	Mr. Stumm
Mr. Hannan		Mr. Gregory	Mr. Wynne
Mr. Higgs		Mr. Groom	-
Mr. Howe	Tellers.	Mr. Hans Irvine	Tellers.
Mr. Jensen	Mr. Page	Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Greene
Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Riley	Mr. Kendell	Mr. John Thomson

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Webster moved the following amendment:—That all words after "consideration of" be eliminated with a view to inserting the following—

"Notice of Motion, No. 2, as follows—Mr. Groom: To move, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Australian Industries Preservation Act 1906-1910."

Debate ensued.

Amendment ruled out of order.

Debate on main question continued.

Mr. McGrath moved the following amendment: -Omit "and 3" from the original motion.

Debate ensued

Mr. Joseph Cook moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 28.		Noes, 26.	
Ayes, Mr. Ahern Mr. Atkinson Mr. James Bennett Mr. Chapman Mr. Joseph Cook Sir John Forrest Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Glynn Mr. Gregory Mr. Groom Mr. Hans Irvine Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Manifold Mr. McWilliams Mr. Orchard Mr. Palmer Mr. Patten Mr. Pigott Mr. Rodgers Mr. Sampson Mr. Bruce Smith Mr. Stumm Mr. Wynne Tellers.	Mr. Anstey Mr. Archibald Mr. Arthur Mr. Brennan Mr. Burns Mr. Catts Mr. Charlton Mr. Dankel Mr. Fenton Mr. Finlayson Mr. Fisher Mr. Hannan Mr. Jensen	Mr. McDonald Mr. McGrath Mr. O'Malley Mr. Sharpe Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Spence Mr. Thomas Mr. Tudor Mr. Webster Mr. West Tellers. Mr. W. Maloney
Mr. Kendell Mr. Livingston	Mr. Greene Mr. John Thomson	Mr. Mathews	Mr. Riley

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the amendment having been accordingly put and having been negatived-

Question—That the Orders of the Day be postponed until after the consideration of the Notices of Motion 1, 2, and 3, Government Business—put.

The .	House	divided-
-------	-------	----------

Ayes, 30.		Noes, 29.	
Mr. Ahern	Mr. McWilliams	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McGrath
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Orchard	Mr. Archibald	Mr. O'Malley
Mr. James Bennett	Mr. Palmer	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Poynton
Mr. Chapman	Mr. Patten	Mr. Burns	Mr. Riley
Mr. Joseph Cook	Mr. Pigott	Mr. Catts	Mr. Sharpe
Sir John Forrest	Mr. Rodgers	Mr. Charlton	Mr. Laird Smith
Mr. R. W. Foster	Colonel Ryrie	Mr. Dankel	Mr. Spence
Mr. Fowler	Mr. Sampson	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Thomas
Mr. Glynn	Mr. Sinclair	Mr. Finlayson	Mr. Tudor
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Bruce Smith	Mr. Fisher	Mr. Webster
Mr. Groom	Mr. Stumm	Mr. Hannan	Mr. West
Mr. Hans Irvine	Mr. Wynne	Mr. Higgs	
Mr. W. II. Irvine		Mr. Jensen	
Mr. Kendell	Tellers.	Mr. W. Maloney	Tellers.
Mr. Livingston	Mr. Greene	Mr. Mathews	Mr. Arthur
Mr. Manifold	Mr. John Thomson	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Page

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

POSTAL VOTING RESTORATION BILL.—Mr. Joseph Cook moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave
to bring in a Bill for an Act to restore the provisions of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1902-1909,
with respect to Voting by Post.

Mr. Fisher, addressing the House, and not having concluded his speech, the House ordered that he have leave to continue his speech when the debate is resumed.

Ordered.—That the debate be now adjourned, and that the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for to-morrow.

8. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Department of Home Affairs-

Lands Acquisition Act-

Land acquired under, at-

Belmore, New South Wales—For Defence purposes. Bondi Beach, New South Wales—For Postal purposes. Brighton, Victoria—For Defence purposes.

Erskineville, New South Wales—For Defence purposes. Pialligo, Federal Territory—For Federal Capital purposes.

9. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Joseph Cook moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at thirty-eight minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Conroy.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.