247

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH,

No. 92.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

TUESDAY, 3RD DECEMBER, 1912.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Constitution Alteration (Trade and Commerce) Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.

Mr. Frazer moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

- Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for a later hour this day.
- 3. Constitution Alteration (Corporations) Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.

Mr. Tudor moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for to-morrow.

4. Constitution Alteration (Trade and Commerce) Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.

Question-put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 41.		Noes, 30.	
Mr. Archibald Mr. Bamford Mr. Bennett Mr. Brennan Mr. Brown Mr. Cann Mr. Carr Mr. Catts Mr. Chanter Mr. Chanter Mr. Charlton Mr. Fenton Mr. Finlayson Mr. Fisher Mr. Frank J. Foster Mr. Higgs	Mr. Mathews Mr. McDougall Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. O'Malley Mr. Ozanne Mr. Page Mr. Poynton Mr. Riley Mr. Roberts Mr. Scullin Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Spence Mr. Thomas	Mr. Atkinson Sir Robert Best Mr. Chapman Mr. Cook Mr. Deakin Mr. Fairbairn Sir John Forrest Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Fowler Mr. Glynn Mr. Gordon Mr. Groom Mr. Groom Mr. Harper Mr. Hedges Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Kelly Mr. Livingston Mr. McWilliams Mr. Palmer Sir John Quick Mr. Ryrie Mr. Salmon Mr. Sampson Mr. Sinclair Mr. Bruce Smith Mr. Thomson Mr. Wynne Tellers. Mr. Greene Mr. W. Elliot Johnson
	11 12 11 1		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative by an absolute majority of the Members of the House.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole. F.7186.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to.

Clause 2-

Question—That the clause stand as printed—put.

The Committee divided-

Ayes, 40.

Noes, 30.

Mr.	Chanter Charlton Fenton Finlayson Fisher Frank J. Foster Frazer Higgs Howe Hughes	Mr.		Mr. Atkinson Sir Robert Best Mr. Chapman Mr. Cook Mr. Deakin Mr. Fairbairn Sir John Forrest Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Fowler Mr. Glynn Mr. Gordon Mr. Groom Mr. Groom Mr. Harper Mr. Hedges Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Kelly Mr. Livingston Mr. McWilliams Mr. Palmer Sir John Quick Mr. Ryrie Mr. Salmon Mr. Sampson Mr. Sinclair Mr. Bruce Smith Mr. Thomson Mr. Wynne Tellers. Mr. Greene Mr. W. Elliot Johnson
	0		Tellers.		
Mr.	W. J. Johnson	Mr.	Watkins		
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.					

Preamble agreed to.

Title agreed to.

Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. Poynton reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Hughes, the House adopted the Report.

Mr. Anstey Mr. Watkins

Mr. Hughes moved, by leave, That the Bill be now read a third time.

Question-put.

Mr. Mahon

Mr. W. Maloney

The House divided-

Ayes, 41.

Noes, 30.

•		•	
Mr. Archibald Mr. Bamford Mr. Bennett Mr. Brennan Mr. Brown Mr. Cann Mr. Carr Mr. Catts Mr. Chanter Mr. Charlton Mr. Fenton Mr. Finlayson Mr. Fisher Mr. Frank J. Foster Mr. Higgs	Mr. Mathews Mr. McDougall Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. O'Malley Mr. Ozanne Mr. Page Mr. Poynton Mr. Riley Mr. Roberts Mr. Scullin Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Spence Mr. Thomas Mr. Tudor Mr. Webster Mr. West	Mr. Atkinson Sir Robert Best Mr. Chapman Mr. Cook Mr. Deakin Mr. Fairbairn Sir John Forrest Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Fuller Mr. Glynn Mr. Gordon Mr. Groom Mr. Harper Mr. Hedges Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Kelly Mr. Livingston Mr. McWilliams Mr. Palmer Sir John Quick Mr. Ryrie Mr. Salmon Mr. Sampson Mr. Sinclair Mr. Bruce Smith Mr. Thomson Mr. Wynne Tellers. Mr. Greene Mr. W. Elliot Johnson
	•		Mr. W. Elliot 'Johnson
Mr. Howe	Mr. Wise		•.
Mr. Hughes			
Mr. Jensen		· .	•
Mr. W. J. Johnson	Tellers.	· ·	
Mr. Mohon	Mr. Ametor		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative by an absolute majority of the Members of the House.-Bill read a third time.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. 3rd December, 1912.

249

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Fisher moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.
 Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. R. Edwards*, Mr. Hans Irvine*, and Sir William Lyne.

• On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.