THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH

No. 80.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 18TH NOVEMBER, 1910.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- Customs Bill (1910).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 agreed to.

Clause 2 debated and agreed to.

Clause 3 agreed to.

Clause 4 read and debated-

Mr. Greene moved the following amendment:-

Line 29, sub-section (3.), add—

"Any proclamation made under paragraph (b) shall be notified to each House within seven days of the issue of such proclamation if the Parliament is in session, but if not in session then within seven days of the meeting of the Parliament, and the same shall be revoked on resolution disapproving of the proclamation remaining in force being passed by either House."

Debate ensued.

Amendment, by leave, withdrawn.

Mr. G. B. Edwards moved the following amendment:-

Line 11, after "Commonwealth" insert "by reason of defect in purity or quality in the goods or their preparation or manufacture".

Debate ensued.

Question-That the words proposed to be inserted be so inserted-put.

The Committee divided-

Ayes, 14.

Mr. Cook	Mr. Livingston
Mr. Deakin	Mr. Sampson
Mr. R. Edwards	Mr. Bruce Smith
Sir John Forrest	Mr. Thomson
Mr. Fuller	
Mr. Glynn	Tellers.
Mr. Greene	Mr. G. B. Edwards
Mr. Hedges	Mr. Kelly
J	•

Noes 29.

Noes 29.	
Mr. Mathews	
Mr. McDougall	
Mr. Parker Moloney	
Mr. O'Malley	
Mr. Riley	
Mr. Scullin	
Mr. Spence	
Mr. Thomas	
Mr. Tudor	
Mr. Webster	
Mr. West	
Tellers.	
Mr. Roberts	
Mr. Watkins	

18th November, 1910.

On the motion of Mr. Greene the following amendment was made:-

Line 29, after "extends." insert—

"Any proclamation made under paragraph (b) shall be notified to each House within seven days of the issue of such proclamation if the Parliament is in session, but if not in session then within seven days after the meeting of Parliament."

Clause, as amended, agreed to.

Clauses 5 to 15 agreed to.

Title agreed to.

Bill to be reported with an amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. W. Elliot Johnson reported accordingly.

Mr. Tudor moved, pursuant to contingent notice given by Mr. Hughes, That the Standing Orders be suspended to enable the remaining stages to be passed without delay.

Question-put and passed.

On the motion of Mr. Tudor, the House adopted the Report.

Mr. Tudor moved, That the Bill be now read a third time.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a third time.

3. Message from the Senate.—Referendum (Constitution Alteration) Bill (1910).—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:—

MR. SPEAKER,

Message No. 45.

The Senate returns to the House of Representatives the Bill for "An Act to amend the 'Referendum (Constitution Alteration) Act 1906-1909,'" to which it has agreed with the amendments indicated in the annexed Schedule, in which amendments the Senate requests the concurrence of the House of Representatives.

H. Turley, President.

The Senate,

Melbourne, 18th November, 1910.

Ordered —That the foregoing Message be taken into consideration forthwith.

SCHEDULE OF THE AMENDMENTS MADE BY THE SENATE.

No. 1.—Clause 2, line 21, leave out "on" (first occurring), insert "in the afternoon of", in lieu thereof.

No. 2.—Clause 2, line 26, after "scrutineer" insert "at each polling place in each State".

On the motion of Mr. Hughes, the House agreed to the amendments.

4. Adjournment.—Mr. Hughes moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at half-past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Beard, Mr. Carr, Mr. Catts, Mr. Chanter, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fisher, Mr. R. W. Foster, Mr. Fowler, Mr. Frazer, Mr. Groom, Mr. Hans Irvine, Mr. W. H. Irvine, Mr. W. J. Johnson, Mr. McWilliams, Mr. Ozanne, Mr. Page, Mr. Sinclair, and Mr. Wynne.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.