### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

#### No. 25.

### VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

### WEDNESDAY, 28TH JULY, 1909.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. ELECTION OF Speaker.—Sir Philip Fysh, addressing himself to the Clerk (who, standing up, pointed to him, and then sat down), proposed to the House for its Speaker the Honorable Charles Carty Salmon, and moved, That he do take the Chair of the House as Speaker; which motion was seconded by Mr. Mauger.
  - Then Mr. Batchelor, addressing himself in like manner to the Clerk, proposed to the House for its Speaker the Honorable Charles McDonald, and moved, That he do take the Chair of the House as Speaker; which motion was seconded by Mr. Bamford.

Debate ensued.

- Then Mr. Storrer, addressing himself in like manner to the Clerk, proposed to the House for its Speaker the Honorable John Moore Chanter, and moved, That he do take the Chair of the House as Speaker; which motion was seconded by Sir William Lyne.
- Then Mr. Hutchison, addressing himself in like manner to the Clerk, proposed to the House for its Speaker the Honorable Agar Wynne, and moved, That he do take the Chair of the House as Speaker; which motion was seconded by Mr. O'Malley.

Debate continued.

And thereupon Mr. Wynne addressed himself to the House, and stated that he did not wish to be proposed as Speaker.

Debate continued.

Mr. Hughes moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

The Question—That the debate be now adjourned—was put by the Clerk.

The House divided-

THO TROUBLE					
Ayes, 32.		Noe	Noes, 36.		
Mr. Bamford Mr. Batchelor Mr. Thomas Brown Mr. Carr Mr. Catts Mr. Chanter Mr. Fisher Mr. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Frazer Mr. Hall Mr. Hughes Sir William Lyne Mr. Mahon Mr. Maloney Mr. Mathews Mr. McDonald	Mr. McDougall Mr. O'Malley Mr. Page Mr. Poynton Mr. Roberts Mr. Sinclair Mr. Spence Mr. Storrer Mr. Thomas Mr. Watkins Mr. Webster Mr. Wilks Mr. Wise  Tellers. Mr. Hutchison Mr. Tudor	Mr. Archer Mr. Atkinson Mr. Bowden Mr. Tilley Brown Mr. Joseph Cook Mr. Coon Mr. Crouch Mr. Deakin Mr. Edwards Mr. Fairbairn Sir John Forrest Mr. Fuller Sir Philip Fysh Mr. Glynn Mr. Groom Mr. Harper Mr. Hedges Mr. Hans Irvine Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Kelly Mr. Liddell Mr. Livingston Mr. Mauger Mr. McWilliams Mr. Palmer Sir John Quick Mr. Reid Mr. Salmon Mr. Salmon Mr. Bruce Smith Mr. Dugald Thomson Mr. John Thomson Mr. Willis Mr. Wilson  Tellers. Mr. Hume Cook Mr. Johnson		

Debate continued on the proposals for election of a Speaker.

Mr. Mathews moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

The Question—That the debate be now adjourned—was put by the Clerk.

The House divided—

Ayes, 31.		Noes, 31.		
Mr. Bamford Mr. Batchelor Mr. Thomas Brown Mr. Carr Mr. Catts Mr. Chanter Mr. Fisher Mr. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Frazer Mr. Hall Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchison Sir William Lyne Mr. Mahon Mr. Maloney Mr. Mathews	Mr. McDonald Mr. McDougall Mr. O'Malley Mr. Page Mr. Poynton Mr. Roberts Mr. Spence Mr. Storrer Mr. Thomas Mr. Tudor Mr. Webster Mr. Wise  Tellers. Mr. Watkins Mr. Wilks	Mr. Archer Mr. Atkinson Mr. Tilley Brown Mr. Joseph Cook Mr. Coon Mr. Crouch Mr. Deakin Mr. Edwards Sir John Forrest Mr. Fuller Sir Philip Fysh Mr. Glynn Mr. Groom Mr. Hedges Mr. Hans Irvine Mr. Johnson Mr. Liddell	Mr. Livingston Mr. Mauger Mr. Palmer Sir John Quick Mr. Reid Mr. Salmon Mr. Sampson Mr. Bruce Smith Mr. Dugald Thomson Mr. John Thomson Mr. Willis Mr. Wilson  Tellers. Mr. Bowden Mr. Hume Cook	
			11 1114 6 4	

And the numbers being equal the Clerk stated that he would not take the responsibility of stopping the debate, and therefore gave a casting vote with the Noes—

And a point of order being raised that the Clerk could not vote, the Clerk, as Chairman, ruled that if he had not a casting vote as Chairman, nevertheless the motion for adjournment, not having received a majority of votes, had not been agreed to.

And the Honorable Charles Carty Salmon having submitted himself to the House-

Debate continued on the proposals for election of a Speaker.

The Question—That the Honorable Charles Carty Salmon do take the Chair of the House as Speaker—was put by the Clerk.

The House divided-

Ayes, 37.		Noes, 29.		
Mr. Archer	Mr. Livingston	Mr. Bamford	Mr. McDonald	
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Mauger	Mr. Batchelor	Mr. McDougall	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. McWilliams	Mr. Thomas Brown	Mr. O'Malley	
Mr. Tillev Brown	Mr. Palmer	Mr. Carr	Mr. Poynton	
Mr. Joseph Cook	Sir John Quick	Mr. Catts	Mr. Roberts	
Mr. Coon	Mr. Reid	Mr. Chanter	Mr. Spence	
Mr. Deakin	Mr. Sampson	Mr. Fisher	Mr. Storrer	
Mr. Edwards	Mr. Sinclair	Mr. Foster	Mr. Thomas	
Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Bruce Smith	Mr. Fowler	Mr. Tudor	
Sir John Forrest	Mr. Dugald Thomson	Mr. Hall	Mr. Webster	
Mr. Fuller	Mr. John Thomson	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Wilks	
Sir Philip Fysh	Mr. Willis	Mr. Hutchison		
Mr. Glvnn	Mr. Wilson	Sir William Lyne	Tellers.	
Mr. Groom	Mr. Wise	Mr. Mahon	Mr. Frazer	
Mr. Harper	Mr. Wynne	Mr. Maloney	Mr. Watkins.	
Mr. Hedges		Mr. Mathews		
Mr. Hans Irvine	Tellers.			
Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Hume Cook	,		
Mr. Johnson	Mr. Crouch	}		
Mr. Liddell		}		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. Salmon was then taken out of his place by Sir Philip Fysh and Mr. Mauger, and conducted to the Chair, where, standing on the upper step, he returned his humble acknowledgments to the House for the great honour it had been pleased to confer upon him by choosing him to be its Speaker, and thereupon he sat down in the Chair, and then the Mace, which before lay under the Table, was laid upon the Table.

Then Mr. Deakin and Mr. Fisher congratulated Mr. Speaker.

- 3. PRESENTATION OF SPEAKER TO GOVERNOR-GENERAL.—Mr. Deakin informed the House that the Governor-General would fix a time for receiving the Speaker.
- 4. PAPER.—Mr. Joseph Cook presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—

Defence—Extracts from Report submitted to the Honorable the Minister of State for Defence by Major-General J. C. Hoad, C.M.G., Inspector-General, Military Forces of the Commonwealth, in connexion with Tour of Duty in the United Kingdom and the United States of America, 1908-9.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. 28th July, 1909.

63

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.
 Debate ensued.
 Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at twenty-seven minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Chapman\*, Sir Thomas Ewing, Colonel Foxton\*, Mr. Knox, and Mr. Watson\*.

on tenter

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives