13

## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

### No. 5.

#### AND PROCEEDINGS VOTES

OF THE

#### HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES. OF

## WEDNESDAY, 2ND JUNE, 1909.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. FORMATION OF NEW MINISTRY.—Mr. Deakin informed the House that His Excellency the Governor-General, having accepted the resignation of the late Government, had commissioned him to form a new Administration, and that he had formed it as follows:-

The Honorable Joseph Cook, to be Minister of State for Defence;

The Right Honorable Sir John Forrest, to be Treasurer;

Senator the Honorable Sir Robert Wallace Best, to be Minister of State for Trade and Customs:

The Honorable Littleton Ernest Groom, to be Minister of State for External Affairs;

The Honorable Patrick McMahon Glynn, to be Attorney-General;

The Honorable Sir John Quick, to be Postmaster-General; The Honorable George Warburton Fuller, to be Minister of State for Home Affairs;

Senator the Honorable Edward Davis Millen, to be Vice-President of the Federal Executive Council:

Colonel the Honorable Justin Fox Greenlaw Foxton, to be an Honorary Minister; and that he himself would occupy the position of Prime Minister, without portfolio.

3. Special Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday, 23rd instant, at three o'clock p.m.

Mr. Fisher moved, as an amendment, That "23rd" be omitted with a view to insert in place thereof "16th."

Debate ensued.

Question—That the figures proposed to be omitted stand part of the question—put.

The House divided-

O LEGUCO GITTEGG			
Ayes, 28.		Noes, 22.	
Mr. Archer	Mr. Hans Irvine	Mr. Bamford	Mr. Poynton
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Thomas Brown	Mr. Storrer
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Mauger	Mr. Carr	Mr. Thomas
Mr. Joseph Cook	Sir John Quick	Mr. Chanter	Mr. Tudor
Mr. Crouch	Mr. Salmon	Mr. Fisher	Mr. Webster
Mr. Deakin	Mr. Sampson	Mr. Foster	
Mr. Edwards	Mr. Sinclair	Mr. Frazer	Tellers.
Sir Thomas Ewing	Mr. Bruce Smith	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Spence
Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Wilks	Sir William Lyne	Mr. Watkins
Sir John Forrest	Mr. Wilson	Mr. Mahon	
Colonel Foxton	Mr. Wynne	Mr. Maloney	
Mr. Fuller	•	Mr. Mathews	
Mr. Glynn	Tellers.	Mr. McDonald	
Mr. Groom	Mr. Hume Cook	Mr. McDougall	
Mr. Harper	Mr. John Thomson	Mr. Page	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Question-That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday, 23rd instant, at three o'clock p.m.—put and resolved in the affirmative.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. 2nd June, 1909.

4. THE LATE HONORABLE THOMAS PRICE, PREMIER OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA.—Mr. Speaker read to the House the following telegram:—

THE SPEAKER,

House of Representatives, Melbourne.

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of your telegram conveying the resolution of the House of Representatives expressing its profound regret at the untimely decease of our Premier, also its deep sympathy with Mr. Price's family and the people of South Australia. I have communicated the contents of the message to Mrs. Price, who desires me to thank the House of Representatives for its sympathetic message of condolence. I also desire to thank the House on behalf of the people of South Australia.

A. H. PEAKE, Acting Premier.

5. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.

 ${\bf Debate\ ensued}.$ 

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at thirty-seven minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday, 23rd instant, at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Catts, Mr. Chapman, Sir Philip Fysh, Mr. Hutchison, Mr. Knox, Mr. Liddell, Mr. Livingston, Mr. McWilliams, Mr. O'Malley, Mr. Palmer, Mr. Reid, Mr. Dugald Thomson, Mr. Watson, and Mr. Willis.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives