THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

No. 62

TUESDAY, 19 NOVEMBER 1968

- 1 The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment. Mr Speaker (the Honourable W. J. Aston) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2 Petitions: Mr Fox presented a petition from certain residents of the Commonwealth praying that the shooting of kangaroos for commercial purposes and the export of products made from kangaroos be banned and that a Commonwealth Government body be established to protect Australia's native fauna on a national basis.
 - Mr C. R. Cameron presented a petition from certain citizens of the Commonwealth praying that this House should withdraw Australian troops from Vietnam and acknowledge that the National Liberation Front must be brought into peace negotiations.

Petitions severally received and read.

3 WANT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE GOVERNMENT—NOTICE OF MOTION: Mr Whitlam (Leader of the Opposition) gave notice of a motion of want of confidence in the Government which he proposed to move at the next sitting.

Suspension of standing orders: Mr Snedden (Leader of the House) moved, by leave— That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent Mr Whitlam (Leader of the Opposition) moving forthwith the motion of want of confidence of which he has given notice for the next sitting and such motion taking precedence of all other business until disposed of.

Question—put and passed.

4 WANT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE GOVERNMENT: Mr Whitlam (Leader of the Opposition) moved—That this House expresses its want of confidence in the Government because of its failure and inability to make decisions on matters concerning the defence, development and welfare of Australia and its refusal and unwillingness to debate such matters in the Parliament.

Debate ensued.

Papers: Mr Gorton (Prime Minister), during his speech, by leave, presented the following papers:

Government Oil Policy-

Aide Memoire.

Letter, dated 14 November 1968, written by the Comptroller-General of Customs.

Debate continued.

Mr C. K. Jones rising to address the House-

Closure: Mr Snedden (Leader of the House) moved—That the question be now put. Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Fox, in the Chair)—

	Ayes, 67				
Mr Adermann	Mr Corbett	Mr Hulme	Mr Nixon		
Mr Allan	Mr Dobie	Mr L. H. Irwin	Mr Peacock		
Mr Anthony	Mr Drury	Mr Jess	Mr Pearsall		
Mr Armstrong	Mr Failes	Mr Jessop	Mr Pettitt		
Mr Arthur	Mr Fairbairn	Mr Katter	Mr Robinson		
Mr Barnes	Mr Fairhall	Mr Kelly	Mr Snedden		
Mr Bonnett	Mr Forbes	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr St. John		
Mr Bowen	Mr J. M. Fraser	Mr Killen	Mr Stokes		
Mr Bridges-Maxwell	Mr Freeth	Mr King	Mr Street		
Miss Brownbill	Mr Gibbs	Mr Lee	Mr Swartz		
Mr Buchanan	Mr Giles	Mr Lynch	Mr Turner		
Mr Bury	Mr Gorton	Mr Mackay	Mr Wentworth		
Mr Calder	Mr Graham	Mr Maisey	Mr Whittorn		
Mr D. M. Cameron	Mr Hallett	Mr McEwen	Mr Wilson		
Mr Chaney	Mr Hasluck	Mr McLeay	Tellers:		
Mr Chipp	Mr Haworth	Mr McMahon	Mr G. D. Erwin		
Mr Cleaver	Mr Holten	Mr Munro	Mr Turnbull		
Noes, 35					
Mr Barnard	Mr Cope	Mr J. R. Fraser	Mr Patterson		
Mr Birrell	Mr Costa	Mr Griffiths	Mr Peters		
Mr Bryant	Mr Courtnay	Mr Hansen	Mr Scholes		
Mr J. F. Cairns	Mr Crean	Mr Harrison	Mr Stewart		
Mr Calwell	Mr Cross	Mr C. K. Jones	Mr Uren		
Mr C. R. Cameron	Mr Curtin	Mr McIvor	Mr Whitlam		
Mr Clark	Mr Davies	Mr Minogue	Tellers:		
Mr Collard	Mr Devine	Mr Nicholls	Mr Duthie		
Mr Connor	Mr Everingham	Mr O'Connor	Mr James		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr Barnard

Mr Birrell

Mr Bryant

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—being accordingly put— The House divided (the Deputy Speaker, Mr Fox, in the Chair)—

> Mr Cope Mr Costa

Mr Courtnay

Ayes,	35
-------	----

Mr J. R. Fraser

Mr Griffiths

Mr Hansen

Mr Patterson

Mr Peters

Mr Scholes

Mr J. F. Cairns	Mr Crean	Mr Harrison	Mr Stewart			
Mr Calwell	Mr Cross	Mr C. K. Jones	Mr Uren			
Mr C. R. Cameron	Mr Curtin	Mr McIvor	Mr Whitlam			
Mr Clark	Mr Davies	Mr Minogue	Tellers:			
Mr Collard	Mr Devine	Mr Nicholls	Mr Duthie			
Mr Connor	Mr Everingham	Mr O'Connor	Mr James			
Noes, 67						
Mr Adermann	Mr Corbett	Mr Hulme	Mr Nixon			
Mr Allan	Mr Dobie	Mr L. H. Irwin	Mr Peacock			
Mr Anthony	Mr Drury	Mr Jess	Mr Pearsall			
Mr Armstrong	Mr Failes	Mr Jessop	Mr Pettitt			
Mr Arthur	Mr Fairbairn	Mr Katter	Mr Robinson			
Mr Barnes	Mr Fairhall	Mr Kelly	Mr Snedden			
Mr Bonnett	Mr Forbes	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr St. John			
Mr Bowen	Mr J. M. Fraser	Mr Killen	Mr Stokes			
Mr Bridges-Maxwell	Mr Freeth	Mr King	Mr Street			
Miss Brownbill	Mr Gibbs	Mr Lee	Mr Swartz			
Mr Buchanan	Mr Giles	Mr Lynch	Mr Turner			
Mr Bury	Mr Gorton	Mr Mackay	Mr Wentworth			
Mr Calder	Mr Graham	Mr Maisey	Mr Whittorn			
Mr D. M. Cameron	Mr Hallett	Mr McEwen	Mr Wilson			
Mr Chaney	Mr Hasluck	Mr McLeay	Tellers:			
Mr Chipp	Mr Haworth	Mr McMahon	Mr G. D. Erwin			
Mr Cleaver	Mr Holten	Mr Munro	Mr Turnbull			

And so it was negatived.

- 5 Message from the Governor-General—Assent to Bill: A message from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced informing the House that His Excellency, in the name of Her Majesty, had assented to the following Bill:

 14 November 1968—Message No. 82—Customs Tariff (No. 2) 1968.
- 6 Message from the Senate: A message from the Senate was reported returning the following Bill without amendment:
 - 14 November 1968—Message No. 103—Phosphate Fertilizers Bounty 1968.
- 7 Adjournment: Mr Snedden (Leader of the House) moved—That the House do now adjourn.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until tomorrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Papers: The following papers were deemed to have been presented on 19 November 1968: By command of His Excellency the Governor-General:

Treaties-Text of-

- Trade Agreement between Australia and the Republic of China, signed 22 April 1968.
- (2) Exchange of Notes dated 25 July 1968, between Australia and Malaysia constituting an amendment to the 1958 Trade Agreement.
- (3) Exchange of Notes dated 10 September 1968, between Australia and Indonesia constituting an Agreement to extend the 1959 Trade Agreement.
- (4) Agreement between Australia and the United States of America relating to scientific and technical co-operation, signed 16 October 1968.
- (5) International Coffee Agreement, drawn up 18 to 31 March 1968.
- (6) International Convention for the Protection of Literary, Scientific and Artistic Works, dated 26 June 1948.
- (7) Universal Copyright Convention, signed 6 September 1952.

Pursuant to statute:

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for drainage purposes—Nightcliff, Northern Territory.

Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinance—1968—No. 23—Companies (Life Insurance Holding Companies).

MEMBERS PRESENT: All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr Beaton, Mr Beazley, Mr Bosman, Mr K. M. K. Cairns, Sir John Cramer, Mr Daly, Mr England, Mr Fulton, Mr Hayden, Mr Howson, Mr Hughes, Mr A. T. Jones, Mr Luchetti and Mr Webb.

N. J. PARKES,
Acting Clerk of the House of Representatives