THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 44.

TUESDAY, 3RD OCTOBER, 1961.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Postal Administration in Queensland-Ministerial Statement.-Mr. Davidson (Postmaster-General), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with reference to an investigation into the misuse of a postal vehicle in Queensland and to subsequent action taken under the Public Service Act against the Director of Posts and Telegraphs, Queensland.
- 3. Papers.—Mr. Speaker presented, pursuant to Statute—

Commonwealth Banks Act—Commonwealth Banking Corporation, Commonwealth Development Bank of Australia, Commonwealth Savings Bank of Australia, Commonwealth Trading Bank of Australia-Reports and financial statements for year 1960-61; together with Auditor-General's reports thereon.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Customs Tariff-Orders-

Customs (British Preferential Tariff) No. 14.

Customs (Intermediate Tariff) No. 49.

Customs Tariff (Primage Duties)—Orders—Customs Tariff (Primage Duties) Nos. 53, 54.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for postal purposes—Willbriggie, New South Wales.

Meat Export Control Act—Australian Meat Board—Twenty-sixth Annual Report, for year 1960-61, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act.

Post and Telegraph Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1961, No. 115.

Public Service Act-Regulations-Statutory Rules 1961, No. 114.

4. Public Works Committee—Reports.—Mr. Fairhall (Chairman) brought up the following Reports from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works:-

Report relating to the proposed construction of a Science Block at the Royal Australian Air Force Academy, Point Cook, Victoria.

Report relating to the proposed provision of Engineering Services to the Rapid Creek Subdivision, Stage 2B, Darwin, Northern Territory.

Severally ordered, after debate, to be printed.

5. Supply—Estimates 1961-62.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote-" Department of Customs and Excise, £5,227,000"-

Vote—" Department of Trade, £3,667,000"

Vote—" Department of Primary Industry, £2,945,000"—

Vote-" Bounties and Subsidies, £13,510,000 "-

Votes together debated.

Closure.—Sir Garfield Barwick (Attorney-General) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.8846/61.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Haworth, in the Chair)—

| Mr. Adermann Mr. Chipp Mr. Fairhall Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Anderson Mr. Chresby Mr. Falkinder Mr. King Mr. Anthony Mr. Cleaver Mr. Forbes Mr. Lindsay Mr. Aston Mr. Davidson Mr. Fox Mr. Lucock Mr. Bandidt Mr. Duvis Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Barnes Mr. Dean Mr. Freeth Mr. McMahon | |
|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Sir G. Barwick Mr. Downer Mr. Halbert Mr. Murray Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Drurmond Mr. Hasluck Mr. Opperman Mr. Browne Mr. Drury Mr. Holten Mr. Osborne Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. England Mr. Howson Mr. Roberton Mr. Cash Mr. Failes Mr. Jess Mr. Stokes Mr. Chaney Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Kelly Mr. Swartz | Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Whittorn Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Pearce Mr. Turnbull |
| Noes, 31. | |
| Mr. Barnard Mr. Cope Mr. Fulton Mr. Peters Mr. Beaton Mr. Costa Mr. Griffiths Mr. Pollard | Mr. Whitlam |
| Mr. Beazley Mr. Courtnay Mr. James Mr. Reynolds Mr. Bryant Mr. Crean Mr. Johnson Mr. Riordan | Tellers: |
| Mr. Cairns Mr. Curtin Mr. Jones Mr. Russell Mr. Clark Mr. Davies Mr. Luchetti Mr. Thompson Mr. Clay Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Makin Mr. Ward | Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart |

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Votes be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Haworth reported accordingly.

Ordered—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Garfield Barwick (Attorney-General) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Closure.—Sir Garfield Barwick moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

| | | AYES, 59. | | |
|------------------------------|----------------------------|-------------------------------|---------------------------------|--------------------------|
| Mr. Adermann Mr. Anderson | Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver | Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder | Mr. Kelly Sir W. Kent Hughes | Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz |
| Mr. Anthony | Mr. Cramer | Mr. Forbes | Mr. King | Mr. Townley |
| Mr. Aston | Mr. Davidson | Mr. Fox | Mr. Lindsay | Mr. Turner |
| Mr. Bandidt | Mr Davis | Mr. J. M. Fraser | Mr. Lucock | Mr. Wentworth |
| Mr. Barnes | Mr. Dean | Mr. Freeth | Mr. Mackinnon | Mr. Wheeler |
| Sir G. Barwick | Mr. Downer | Mr. Halbert | Mr. McEwen | Mr. Whittorn |
| Mr. Brimblecombe | Mr. Drummond | Mr. Hasluck | Mr. McMahon | Mr. Wight |
| Mr. Browne | Mr. Drury | Mr. Haworth | Mr. Murray | Mr. Wilson |
| Mr. Cash | Mr. England | Mr. Holten | Mr. Opperman | Tellers: |
| Mr. Chaney | Mr. Failes | Mr. Howson | Mr. Osborne | Mr. Pearce |
| Mr. Chipp | Mr. Fairbairn | Mr. Jess | Mr. Roberton | Mr. Turnbull |
| | | Noes, 31. | | |
| Mr. Barnard | Mr. Cope | Mr. Fulton | Mr. Peters | Mr. Whitlam |
| Mr. Beaton | Mr. Costa | Mr. Griffiths | Mr. Pollard | |
| Mr. Beazley | Mr. Courtnay | Mr. James | Mr. Reynolds | Tellers: |
| Mr. Bryant | Mr. Crean | Mr. Johnson | Mr. Riordan | |
| Mr. Cairns | Mr. Curtin | Mr. Jones | Mr. Russell | Mr. Duthie |
| Mr. Clark | Mr. Davies | Mr. Luchetti | Mr. Thompson | Mr. Stewart |
| Mr. Clay | Mr. A. D. Fraser | Mr. Makin | Mr. Ward | |
| ivii. Ciuj | 1.1 | | | |

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at nine minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan*, Mr. Bowden*, Mr. Buchanan, Mr. Bury*, Mr. Daly*, Mr. Erwin*, Mr. Galvin*, Mr. Hamilton*, Mr. Lawson*, Mr. Minogue* and Mr. Snedden*.

• On leave.

N. J. PARKES,

Acting Clerk of the House of Representatives.