THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 5.

WEDNESDAY, 15TH MARCH, 1961.

- The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for Civil Aviation purposes—Perth Airport, Western Australia.

Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Works—L. S. Campbell.

Public Works Committee Act—Twenty-sixth General Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works.

- 3. Printing Committee.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That Mr. Lucock be discharged from attendance on the Printing Committee, and that, in his place, Mr. King be appointed a member of the Committee.
 - Question-put and passed.
- 4. Foreign Affairs—Joint Committee.—Sir Garfield Barwick (Acting Minister for External Affairs) moved, by leave—
 - (1) That Mr. Lucock be discharged from attendance on the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and that his place be filled by Mr. Failes.
 - (2) That Mr. Anderson be a member of the Committee in the place of Mr. Failes.
 - (3) That the foregoing resolution be communicated to the Senate by Message.

Debate ensued.

Closure.—Mr. Holt (Treasurer) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

AYES, 65.

Mr. Adermann Mr. Anderson Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Bandidt Mr. Barnes Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bate	Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cash Mr. Chaney Mr. Chipp Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis	Mr. Falkinder Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Halbert Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth	Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McColm Mr. McCeven	Mr. Swartz Mr. Townley Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Whittorn Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bland Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drury	Mr. Holt Mr. Holten Mr. Howson	Mr. McMahon Mr. Murray Mr. Opperman	Tellers:
Mr. Browne Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury	Mr. England Mr. Erwin Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Jess	Mr. Roberton Mr. Snedden Mr. Stokes	Mr. Pearce Mr. Turnbull

15th March, 1961.

		Noes, 39.		
Mr. Beaton	Mr. Costa	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Sexton
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Crean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Uren
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Curtin	Mr. James	Mr. Peters	Mr. Ward
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Daly	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Clark	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Jones	Mr. Reynolds	Tellers:
Mr. Clay	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Luchetti
Mr. Cope	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Russell	Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed.

5. Want of Confidence in the Government.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition), That because the Government's rapidly changing plans have failed to protect and develop the Australian economy and to safeguard our overseas funds and have caused grave confusion, dislocation and hardship to many sections of industry, both primary and secondary, and unnecessary suffering to many citizens, particularly those who have lost their employment, this Government does not possess the confidence of the Parliament or of the Nation—

Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Cope), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. Adjournment.—Mr. Freeth (Minister for the Interior) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at thirteen minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan, Mr. Bird, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fairball, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Makin, Mr. Menzies and Mr. Osborne.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.