THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 40.

WEDNESDAY, 7TH SEPTEMBER, 1960.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS .- The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Primary Industry—R. A. Daly. Services Trust Funds Act—Services Canteens Trust Fund—Report for 1959.

- 3. LEAVE OF ABSENCE TO MEMBERS.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That leave of absence for one month be given to the Treasurer (Mr. Holt) on the ground of public business overseas, and to the honorable Member for Fawkner (Mr. Howson) on the ground of Parliamentary business overseas. Question—put and passed.
- 4. LEAVE OF ABSENCE TO MEMBERS.—Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That leave of absence for one month be given to the honorable Members for Eden-Monaro (Mr. A. D. Fraser) and Grey (Mr. Russell) on the ground of ill health. Question—put and passed.
- 5. SUPPLY-ESTIMATES 1960-61.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Prime Minister's Department, £3,681,000 "—further debated. *Closure.*—Mr. Davidson (Postmaster-General) moved, That the question be now put. Question—That the question be now put—put. The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Lucock, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 66. Mr. Falkinder Mr. Chaney Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Adermann Mr. Swartz Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Allan Mr. Anderson Mr. Anthony Mr. Bandidt Mr. Cramer Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Lindsay Mr. Turner Mr. Davidson Mr. Freeth Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Wheeler Mr. Halbert Mr. McEwen Mr. McMahon Mr. Whittorn Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Mr. Davis Mr. Barnes Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Hamilton Mr. Bate Mr. Hasluck Mr. Murray Mr. Bland Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Drummond Mr. Haworth Mr. Opperman Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Browne Tellers: Mr. Buchanan Mr. Failes Mr. Jack Mr. Roberton Mr. Bury Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Jess Mr. Snedden Mr. Aston Mr. Cash Mr. Fairhall Mr. Kelly Mr. Stokes Mr. Turnbull NOES, 31. Mr. Haylen Mr. Peters Mr. Beaton Mr. Clay Mr. Whitlam Mr. James Mr. Pollard Mr. Curtin Mr. Beazley Mr. Davies Mr. Fulton Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones Mr. Reynolds Mr. Bird Mr. Riordan Tellers: Mr. Bryant Mr. Kearney Mr. Sexton Mr. Galvin Mr. Cairns Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. McIvor Mr. O'Connor Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Griffiths Mr. Duthie Mr. Harrison Mr. Clark Mr. Luchetti

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

.

7th September, 1960.

And the question-That the Vote be agreed to-was put accordingly, and passed.

Vote-" Department of External Affairs, £2,943,000 "-debated.

Point of Order.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) raised a Point of Order that the remarks of the honorable Member for Hindmarsh were not relevant to the Vote under discussion.

Temporary Chairman's Ruling .-- The Temporary Chairman (Mr. Lucock) upheld the Point of Order.

Dissent from Ruling.—Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition) having handed in, in writing, an objection to the Ruling, moved, That the Ruling be dissented from.

Question-put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Lucock, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 32.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clark	Mr. Harrison	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beaton	Mr. Clay	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Peters	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Crean	Mr. James	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Bird	Mr. Davies	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Reynolds	Tellers:
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Jones	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Mclvor	Mr. Sexton	Mr. Duthie
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Luchetti
		Noes, 65.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cash	Mr. Fairhall	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr. Townley
Mr. Allan	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Killen	Mr. Turner
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Chresby	Mr. Forbes	Mr. King	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Aston	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Cramer	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Whittorn
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Freeth	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wight
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Davis	Mr. Halbert	Mr. Murray	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Opperman	
Mr. Bland	Mr. Downer	Mr. Haworth	Sir E. Page	an 11
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Holten	Mr. Roberton	Tellers:
Mr. Browne	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Snedden	M. D.
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jack	Mr. Stokes	Mr. Pearce
Mr. Bury	Mr. Failes	Mr. Jess	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Timson	

And so it was negatived. Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Lucock reported accordingly. Ordered—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Adermann (Minister for Primary Industry) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

- And then the House, at twelve minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bowden, Mr. Cope, Mr. Costa, Mr. A. D. Fraser*, Mr. Holt*, Mr. Howson*, Mr. Lawson, Mr. McColm, Mr. Russell*, Mr. Stewart and Mr. Uren.

* On leave.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.