to the second

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 49.

TUESDAY, 29TH SEPTEMBER, 1959.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Death of the Prime Minister of Ceylon (The Honorable S. W. R. D. Bandaranaike).—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) referred to the tragic loss suffered by Ceylon by the assassination of her Prime Minister, the Honorable S. W. R. D. Bandaranaike, and associated the House with expressions of profound sympathy sent from Australia to the people and Government of Ceylon and the family of Mr. Bandaranaike.
 - Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition) supported the remarks of the Prime Minister and joined in the expression of sympathy.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Aluminium Industry Act—Australian Aluminium Production Commission—Fourteenth Annual Report and financial accounts, for year 1958-59.

Cellulose Acetate Flake Bounty Act—Return for year 1958-59.

Flax Industry Act-Flax Commission-Fifth Annual Report and financial accounts, for year 1958-59.

Norfolk Island Act—Ordinance—1959—No. 5—Plant and Fruit Diseases.

Overseas Telecommunications Act—Overseas Telecommunications Commission (Australia)— Thirteenth Annual Report and financial accounts, for year ended 31st March, 1959. Public Service Act—Appointment—Postmaster-General's Department—F. J. Harding. Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinance—1959—No. 12—Workmen's Compensation. Tractor Bounty Act—Return for year 1958-59.

4. Message from the Senate.—A Message from the Senate was reported returning the following Bill without amendment:-

28th September, 1959-Message No. 68-Post and Telegraph Rates 1959.

5. Supply-Estimates 1959-60.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Attorney-General's Department, £2,011,000"—further debated and agreed to.

Vote—" Department of the Interior, £5,115,000 "-

Vote-" Department of Works, £3,915,000 "-

considered together.

Votes debated.

Mr. Freeth (Minister for the Interior) having been called upon to speak-

Mr Daly moved, That the honorable Member for Bonython be now heard.

Question—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bowden, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 38.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns	Mr. Clark Mr. Clay Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Davies Mr. Fulton Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. Harrison	Mr. Lawson Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. Minogue Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Uren Mr. Ward
Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Clarey	Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly	Mr. Haylen Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones	Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Reynolds	Tellers: Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

29th September, 1959.

		Noes, 60.	-··.	
Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Bandidt Mr. Barnes	Mr. Chaney Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis	Mr. Falkinder Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Halbert	Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight
Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bate Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury	Mr. Hamilton Mr. Hasluck Mr. Holten Mr. Howse	Mr. McColm Mr. McMahon Mr. Murray Mr. Osborne	Tellers: Mr. Opperman
Mr. Bury Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cash	Mr. Erwin Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kelly	Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Stokes	Mr. Turnbull

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Ward addressing the Committee-

Closure.—Mr. Freeth moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Chaney, in the Chair)-

Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Bandidt Mr. Barnes Sir G. Barwick Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Cash Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Fairbairn	Ayes, 59. Mr. Falkinder Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Halbert Mr. Hamilton Mr. Hasluck Mr. Holten Mr. Howse Mr. Howse Mr. Jack	Mr. Joske Mr. Kelly Sir W. Kent Hughes Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McColm Mr. McColm Mr. Murray Mr. Osborne	Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Stokes Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Tellers: Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. Calwell Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark	Mr. Clay Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay Mr. Crean Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly Mr. Davies	Noes, 35. Mr. Fulton Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. Harrison Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones Mr. Kearney Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Makin Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Reynolds Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Uren	Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Votes be agreed to-was put accordingly, and passed.

Ordered—That the following Votes be now taken, and considered together:—

Vote—" Department of Civil Aviation, £12,140,000"—

Vote—" Department of Shipping and Transport, £1,240,000 "-

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Ordered—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. Message from 'the Governor-General.—Assent to Bill.—A Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced informing the House that His Excellency, in the name and on behalf of Her Majesty, had assented to the following Bill:—

29th September, 1959-Message No. 37-Post and Telegraph Rates 1959.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Osborne (Minister for Air) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-five minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anderson, Mr. Bland, Mr. Browne, Mr. Casey*, Mr. Failes*, Mr. Haworth*, Mr. Holt, Mr. Hulme, Mr. McEwen, Mr. McIvor, Mr. Nelson*, Sir Earle Page*, Mr. Riordan*, Mr. Sexton, Mr. Snedden and Mr. Swartz.

* On leave.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.