### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

#### OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

### No. 39.

### THURSDAY, 27th AUGUST, 1959.

1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.

2. PAPERS .- The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Lands Acquisition Act-Land acquired for-

Postal purposes-Gretna, Tasmania.

Supply purposes--West Melbourne, Victoria.

- 3. POSTPONEMENT OF ORDER OF THE DAY.—Ordered—That Order of the Day No. 1, Government Business, be postponed until a later hour this day.
- 4. SUPPLY-BUDGET DEBATE.-The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 101.— Senate—namely—

Salaries and allowances .. .. .. £29,600

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evalt (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:--That the first item be reduced by  $\pounds 1$ .

Mr. Stewart rising to address the Committee-

Closure.-Mr. Holt (Treasurer) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bowden, in the Chair)-

Αγε	s,	6	i0.		
	-				

Mr. Adermann Mr. Allan Mr. Anderson Mr. Anthony Mr. Aston Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Cash Mr. Chaney Mr. Chresby Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Davidson	Mr. Forbes Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Halbert Mr. Hamilton	Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McColm Mr. McColm	Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson
Mr. Barnes Sir G. Barwick Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer	Mr. Holt Mr. Holten Mr. Howse	Mr. McMahon Mr. Menzies Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. Browne Mr. Buchanan Mr. Bury Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Drury Mr. Erwin Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Howson Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Killen	Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Snedden Mr. Stokes	Mr. Opperman Mr. Turnbull
		NOES, 33.		
Mr. Bryant Mr. Cairns Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Clarey	Mr. Costa Mr. Courtnay Mr. Crean Mr. Daly	Mr. Harrison Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones Mr. Kearney	Mr. Minogue Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard	Mr. Uren Mr. Ward Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Clark Mr. Clay Mr. Cope	Mr. Evatt Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McIvor	Mr. Reynolds Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson	<i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Duthie Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the item proposed to be reduced be so reduced—being accordingly put— The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bowden, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 33.		
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Costa	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Uren
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Johnson	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Ward
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Crean	Mr. Jones	Mr. Peters	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Daly	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Clark	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Reynolds	Tellers:
Mr. Clay	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Makin	Mr. Russell	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Cope	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Stewart
		Noes, 60.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cash	Mr. Forbes	Mr. King	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Allan	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Chresby	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turner
Mr. Aston	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Halbert	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Davis	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	
Sir G. Ba <del>r</del> wick	Mr. Dean	Mr. Holten	Mr. Menzies	Tellers:
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Downer	Mr. Howse	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Browne	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howson	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bury	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jack	Mr. Snedden	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Killen	Mr. Stokes	

And so it was negatived.

General debate concluded.

First item agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE—FOREIGN AFFAIRS—JOINT COMMITTEE.—Mr. Speaker reported the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:—

MR. SPEAKER,

The Senate transmits to the House of Representatives the following Resolutions which were agreed to by the Senate this day:---

- (1) That Senators Pearson and Vincent be discharged from attendance on the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs.
- (2) That Senators Buttfield, McCallum and Scott be members of the Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs.
- (3) That, until such time as the vacancies for Members of the Senate on the Committee are filled by Members of the Opposition, Senator Mattner be a member of the Committee.

A. M. MCMULLIN, President.

The Senate, Canberra, 27th August, 1959.

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Holt (Treasurer) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-two minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

-----

Мемвекs Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bird, Mr. Casey, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Failes, Mr. Fulton, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Haworth, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Joske, Mr. Kelly, Sir Wilfrid Kent Hughes, Mr. Murray, Mr. Nelson, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Sexton, Mr. Wentworth and Mr. Wheeler.

> A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.

Message No. 63.