THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 4.

TUESDAY, 24TH FEBRUARY, 1959.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Suspension of Standing Orders—Ministerial Statement on Foreign Affairs.—Mr. Holt (Treasurer) moved, That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) making a Statement on Foreign Affairs and the consideration of any motion moved in connexion therewith.

Question—put and passed, with the concurrence of an absolute majority.

3. Indonesia and West New Guinea—Ministerial Statement—Motion for Printing Paper.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), made a Ministerial Statement with reference to the attitude of the Government to the claim by Indonesia to sovereignty over West New Guinea, and, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General, laid upon the Table the following Paper:—

Ayes. 69.

Indonesia and West New Guinea—Ministerial Statement—

and moved, That the Paper be printed.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Pearce moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Bowden, in the Chair)-

			A1ES, 07.		
	Mr. Adermann	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Fox	Sir W. Kent Hughes	Mr. Swartz
	Mr. Allan	Mr. Chresby	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Killen	Mr. Timson
	Mr. Anderson	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Freeth	Mr. King	Mr. Townley
	M1. Anthony	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Halbert	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Turner
	Mr. Aston	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wentworth
	Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wheeler
	Mr. Barnes	Mr. Dean	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wilson
	Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holt	Mr. McEwen	
	Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Drury	Mr. Holten	Mr. McMahon	Tellers:
	Mr. Browne	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Howse	Mr. Murray	
	Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Failes	Mr. Howson	Sir E. Page	Mr. Opperman
	Mr. Bury	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Turnbull
	Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jack	Mr. Roberton	******
	Mr. Casey	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Joske	Mr. Snedden	
	Mr. Cash	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Stokes	
Noes, 39.					
	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Cope	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Makin	Mr. Russell
	Mr. Bird	Mr. Cope Mr. Costa	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Thompson
		_			Mr. Uren
	Mr. Bryant	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Minogue	
	Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Ward
	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Peters	Mr. Whitlam
	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Daly	Mr. Jones	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
	Mr. Clark	Mr. Davies	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Reynolds	Mr. Duthie
	Mr. Clay	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Postmaster-General's Department—

Forty-eighth Annual Report, for year 1957–58.

Financial and Statistical Bulletin, for year 1957-58.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for postal purposes—Huntly, Victoria.

Post and Telegraph Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1959, No. 7.

Public Service Act—Public Service Board—Thirty-fourth Report on the Public Service, for year 1957-58.

Public Service Arbitration Act—Determinations—1959—

No. 1-Musicians' Union of Australia.

No. 2—Australian Workers' Union.

No. 3—Commonwealth Public Service Artisans' Association.

No. 4—Civil Aviation Employees' Association of Australia.

No. 5-Australian Workers' Union and others.

- 5. COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That the number of Members appointed to serve on the Committee of Privileges be increased to nine, and that Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Clark, Mr. Drury, Mr. Erwin, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Killen, Mr. Snedden and Mr. Turnbull be members of that Committee; five to form a quorum.
 Question—put and passed.
- 6. House Committee.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, Mr. Failes, Mr. J. R. Fraser, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Pearce and Mr. Stewart be members of the House Committee.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

- 7. LIBRARY COMMITTEE.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, Mr. Bryant, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Forbes, Mr. Kearney, Mr. O'Connor and Mr. Wentworth be members of the Library Committee.

 Question—put and passed.
- 8. Printing Committee.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That Mr. Bird, Mr. Erwin, Mr. Harrison, Mr. Lucock, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Pearce and Mr. Stewart be members of the Printing Committee.

 Question—put and passed.
- STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, the Prime Minister, the Chairman of Committees, the Leader of the House, the Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Clark, Mr. Costa, Mr. Drury, Mr. Harrison, Mr. Makin and Sir Earle Page be members of the Standing Orders Committee; five to form a quorum.
 Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

- 10. Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Parliamentary Proceedings Broadcasting Act 1946, the following Members be appointed members of the Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings, viz.:—Mr. Speaker, Mr. Costa, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. Opperman and Mr. Turnbull. Question—put and passed.
- 11. Joint Committee of Public Accounts.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the *Public Accounts Committee Act* 1951, the following Members be appointed members of the Joint Committee of Public Accounts, viz.:—Mr. Allan, Mr. Bland, Mr. Bury, Mr. Cairns, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Cope and Mr. Thompson.

 Question—put and passed.
- 12. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the *Public Works Committee Act* 1913–1953, the following Members be appointed members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works, viz.:—Mr. Brimblecombe, Mr. Dean, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. Griffiths, Mr. McIvor and Mr. O'Connor. Debate ensued.

 Question—put and passed.
- 13. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

Debate resumed.

- Debate adjourned (Mr. Allan), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.
- 14. Adjournment.—Mr. Roberton (Minister for Social Services) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at twenty-four minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bland, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Kearney and Mr. Sexton.

A. G. TURNER,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.