THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 63.

WEDNESDAY, 26TH SEPTEMBER, 1956.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.---Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LIBERAL PARTY, AND LEADER OF THE HOUSE.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) informed the House that Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) had resigned as Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party and that Mr. H. E. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) had been appointed to that position.
 - Mr. Menzies also announced that he had appointed Mr. Holt to be Leader of the House in place of Sir Eric Harrison.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Defence Production—C. J. Thompson. Seat of Government (Administration) Act--Ordinance—1956---No. 10--Co-operative Societies.

5. SOCIAL SERVICES BILL 1956.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—And on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Thompson, viz. :—That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to inserting the following words in place thereof :—" the Bill be redrafted to provide, in the light of the declining purchasing value of money, increases in the rates of social services payments to the maximum extent that the national economy will permit, and, particularly, to ensure as a minimum that each of these payments is restored to the same percentage of the (unpegged) basic wage as it was under the adjustment of rates by the Chifley Government in 1948 "—

Question—That the words proposed to be omitted stand part of the question—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 65.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson
Mr. Allan	Mr. Davidson	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Luck	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Turner
Mr. Aston	Mr. Dean	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Mr. H. E. Holt	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. Howse	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bland	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Howson	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bostock	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Mr. Jack	Sir E. Page	Tellers:
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Joske	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Casey	Mr. Fox	Mr. Killen	Mr. Snedden	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Chaney	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Stokes	
Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Swartz	

Debate resumed.

		NOES, 39.		
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cope	Mr. E. James	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Harrison	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Coutts	Mr. R. W. Holt	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Crean	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Peters	Tellers :
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Daly	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Russell	Mr. Duthie
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Makin	Mr. Ward	
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Watkins	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put and passed.—Bill read a second time. Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.) Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to, after debate. Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed ; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly. On the motion of Mr. Roberton (Minister for Social Services), the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

6. REPATRIATION BILL 1956.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Leslie), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. McEwen (Minister for Trade) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at nineteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Brand, Mr. Clark, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Fairbairn*, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Haylen, Mr. H. V. Johnson and Mr. Riordan.*

* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

 $\mathbf{294}$

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.