THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 10.

WEDNESDAY, 7TH MARCH, 1956.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General-Australian Wool Bureau-Second Annual Report, for year 1954-55.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Public Service Act-Appointments-Department-

Postmaster-General-A. Ambery, A. R. Jupp, S. H. Noble, P. A. Tiley. Works-A. Appleby, G. M. Berkman.

3. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.-The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question-That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to :-

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—And on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Pollard, viz. :- That the following words be added to the Address :--- " and we desire to add that, in the opinion of this House, the Government should at once terminate all negotiations for the sale or disposal of any of the assets of the Australian Whaling Commission located at Carnarvon, Western Australia"—

Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Wilson), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. ADJOURNMENT.-Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Ward rising to address the House-

Closure.-Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

AyES, 52. Mr. Adermann Mr. Davis Mr. Graham Mr. Townley Mr. Turner Mr. Luck Sir E. Harrison Mr. Haworth Mr. Dean Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Anderson Mr. Aston Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden Mr. Downer Mr. Drury Mr. McColm Mr. McLeay Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Howson Mr. Erwin Mr. Hulme Mr. Osborne Mr. Wight Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Failes Mr. Pearce Mr. Wilson Mr. Buchanan Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Chaney Mr. Cleaver Mr. Cramer Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Roberton Tellers: Mr. Killen Mr. Snedden Mr. Fox Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Stokes Mr. Swartz Mr. Lawrence Mr. Leslie Mr. Opperman Mr. Timson Mr. Davidson Mr. Lindsay Mr. Turnbull

		Noes, 34.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clarey	Mr. E. James	Mr. Makin	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Clark	Harrison	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cope	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Morgan	
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Costa	Mr. R. W. Holt	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Coutts	Mr. James	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. H. V. Johnson	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. L. R. Johnson	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Peters
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Luchetti		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eleven minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Bate, Mr. Bostock, Mr. Casey, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Daly*, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Hasluck, Mr. Kent Hughes, Sir Philip McBride and Mr. Russell.

* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.