## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 7.

## WEDNESDAY, 29TH FEBRUARY, 1956.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL CHANGES.—Sir Arthur Fadden (Treasurer) announced to the House the resignations of Sir Eric Harrison and Mr. McMahon as Minister for the Army and Minister for Social Services respectively, and the appointments of Mr. Cramer to be Minister for the Army and Mr. Roberton to be Minister for Social Services.
- 3. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Civil Aviation—P. J. Kok. Services Trust Funds Act-Royal Australian Navy Relief Trust Fund-Annual Report for year 1954-55.
- 4. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question-That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to:-

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY—

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—And on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Pollard, viz.:—That the following words be added to the Address:—
"and we desire to add that, in the opinion of this House, the Government should at once terminate all negotiations for the sale or disposal of any of the assets of the Australian Whaling Commission located at Carnarvon, Western Australia "-

Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Cope), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

5. Message from the Senate.—A Message from the Senate was reported acquainting the House of the appointment of Senators to the following Committee:—
29th February, 1956—Message No. 4—Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary

Proceedings-Mr. President and Senators Arnold and Marriott.

6. Message from the Senate-Foreign Affairs-Joint Committee.-Mr. Speaker reported the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:-

Mr. Speaker.

Message No. 5.

The Senate, having considered Message No. 5 of the House of Representatives, has agreed to the following resolutions in connexion therewith:-

- (1) That the Senate concurs in the resolutions transmitted to the Senate by Message No. 5 of the House of Representatives relating to the appointment of a Joint Committee on
- (2) That Senators Cole, Gorton, Maher, Pearson and Wordsworth be members of such Joint Committee.

A. M. McMullin,

President.

The Senate. Canberra, 29th February, 1956.

- 7. Foreign Affairs—Joint Committee—Motion for Appointment of Members.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved-
  - (1) That Mr. Downer, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Joske, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lucock, Mr. Mackinnon, Mr. Timson and Mr. Wentworth be members of the Joint Committee appointed to consider foreign affairs generally and, in particular, to inquire into matters referred to it by the Minister for External Affairs.
  - (2) That the foregoing resolution be communicated to the Senate by Message.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Calwell), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

8. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department of the Treasury—G. H. W. Hills, W. G.

9. Adjournment .-- Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Calwell rising to address the House—

Closure.—Sir Eric Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 50.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Davidson	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Turner
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Aston	Mr. Downer	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wight
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drury	Mr. H. E. Holt	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Howse	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Roberton	Tellers:
Mr. Brand	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Killen	Mr. Snedden	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fox	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Stokes	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Chancy	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Timson	
Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Luck	Mr. Townley	
		Noes, 26.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. Beazlev	Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Peters	
Mr. Bird	Mr. Chambers	Mr. R. W. Holt	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Webb
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Cope	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Thompson	
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Ward	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eleven minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present. All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Bate, Mr. D. A. Cameren, Mr. Casey, Mr. Clark, Mr. Costa, Mr. Coutts, Mr. Cramer, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Daly\*, Mr. Davis, Mr. Drummend, Mr. Failes, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Graham, Mr. E. James Harrisen, Mr. Howsen, Mr. Jack, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lucock, Mr. Makin, Sir Philip McBride, Mr. Menzics, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Russell, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Wheeler and Mr. Whitlam.

\* On leave.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.