## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 70.

### TUESDAY, 6TH SEPTEMBER, 1955.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Absence of Mr. Speaker.—The Clerk, at the Table, having informed the House that Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) was unavoidably absent, the Chairman of Committees (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair as Deputy Speaker, and read Prayers.
- 3. PAPERS .-- Mr. Deputy Speaker presented pursuant to Statute ---

Audit Act—Finance—Treasurer's Statement of Receipts and Expenditure for year 1954-55, accompanied by the Report of the Auditor-General.

Ordered to be printed.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for Defence purposes—Marsden Park, New South Wales. Papua and New Guinea Act -Ordinances-1955-

No. 2—Appropriation (No. 2) 1954-55.

No. 3—Building.

No. 4-New Guinea Land Titles Restoration.

No. 5-Native Local Government Councils.

No. 6-Fire Prevention.

No. 7—The British and Foreign Bible Society.

No. 8-Boards (Fees and Allowances).

No. 9-Papua and New Guinea Copra Industry Stabilization.

No. 10—Service and Execution of Process.

No. 11—Cemeteries. No. 12—Probate and Administration.

No. 13-Treasury.

No. 14—Royal Papua and New Guinea Constabulary. No. 17—Public Service.

No. 18—Superannuation (Papua).

No. 21—Immigration Restriction (Papua). No. 23—Native Loans Fund.

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—Interior—R. D. Kent.

Works—R. W. Nash, H. A. Yettie.

Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinances—1955—

No. 7-Motor Traffic (No. 2).

No. 8—Liquor Poll.

4. DISCUSSION OF MATTER OF URGENCY—WAR-TIME DEFENCE UNDERTAKINGS—PUBLICATION OF REPORTS, ETC., CONCERNING FRAUDULENT PRACTICES.—Mr. W. M. Bourke having proposed to Mr. Deputy Speaker that a definite matter of urgent public importance be submitted to the House for discussion, namely, "The need for making public without further delay the reports of the Joint Parliamentary War Expenditure Committee and other material in the Government's possession disclosing fraudulent practices in connexion with Commonwealth defence undertakings during the war

Mr. Deputy Speaker called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly-

Mr. Bourke addressed the House.

Discussion ensued.

Ordered -That Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition) be granted an extension of time.

Discussion continued.

Mr. Ward addressing the House -

Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the Business of the Day be called on.

Question-put.

#### 6th September, 1955.

The House divided (7	The Deputy Speake	r, Mr. Adermann,	in the Chair)-	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
Mr. Allan Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Bland Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brand Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean	Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Hamilton Sir E. Harrison Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Haworth Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Lawrence Mr. Leslie Mr. Lindsay Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon	Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson	Mr. Townley Mr. Turnbull Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight  Tellers: Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett
		Noes, 43.		
Mr. Auderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell	Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Chambers Mr. Clarey Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Coutts Mr. Crean Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin	Mr. Davies Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Fuller Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. Johnson Mr. Joshua	Mr. Lawson Mr. Lenimon Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod Mr. Minogue Mr. Mullens Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard	Mr. Riordan Mr. Stewart Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Webb  Tellers: Mr. Bryson Mr. Daly
Mr. Andrews Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Chambers Mr. Clarey Mr. Cope Mr. Costa Mr. Coutts Mr. Crean Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin	Mr. Davies Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. Johnson	Mr. Lemmon Mr. Luchetti Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod Mr. Minogue Mr. Mullens Mr. Peters	Mr. Stewart Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Webb

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

5. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1—Senate—namely—

Salaries and Allowances ... £27,70

be agreed to, and on the amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:—
That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 6. Mr. Deputy Speaker—Extension of Powers.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Social Services) moved, by leave, That the Chairman of Committees shall, on each sitting day, during the absence of the Speaker, take the Chair as Deputy Speaker, and may, during such absence, perform the duties and exercise the authority of the Speaker in relation to all proceedings of the House. Question—put and passed.
- 7. Adjournment.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Social Services) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Mr. Ward addressing the House-

Closure.—Mr. Gullett moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 51.		
Mr. Allan	Mr. Davis	Mr. Holt	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Townley
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Howse	Mr. McColm	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Jack	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drury	Mr. Joske	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Opperman	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. Brand	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Francis	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Gullett
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Sir E. Harrison	Mr. Luck	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Timson	
		Noes, 34.		\$2.
Mr. Anderson	Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Makin	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Barnard	Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Galvin	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Mr. Johnson	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers:
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Peters	Mr. Bryson
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Daly
1				••

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at twelve minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. A. G. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Clark, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Greenup, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Haylen, Mr. James, Mr. Morgan and Mr. Whitlam.

A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk of the House of Representatives.