THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 4.

WEDNESDAY, 11TH AUGUST, 1954.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That Mr. Clark, Mr. Joske, Mr. McLeay, Mr. Morgan, Mr. Sheehan, Mr. Swartz and Mr. Turnbull be members of the Committee of Privileges; five to form a quorum. Question—put and passed.
- 3. House Committee.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Bryson, Mr. Edmonds, Mr. Failes, Mr. Gullett and Mr. Hulme be members of the House Committee. Question—put and passed.
- 4. LIBRARY COMMITTEE.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, Mr. Cremean, Mr. Downer, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. O'Connor and Mr. Wentworth be members of the Library Committee. Question—put and passed.
- 5. Printing Committee.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That Mr. Andrews, Mr. Cremean, Mr. Drury, Mr. Freeth, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Leslie and Mr. Osborne be members of the Printing Committee. Question—put and passed.
- 6. Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Parliamentary Proceedings Broadcasting Act 1946, the following Members be appointed members of the Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings, viz.:—Mr. Speaker, Mr. Bate, Mr. Bryson, Mr. Davidson, Mr. A. D. Fraser and Mr. Gullett. Question—put and passed.
- 7. JOINT COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Public Accounts Committee Act 1951, the following Members be appointed members of the Joint Committee of Public Accounts, viz.:-Mr. Anderson, Mr. Bland, Mr. Crean, Mr. Davis, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Leslie and Mr. Thompson. Question—put and passed.
- 8. PARLIAMENTARY STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC WORKS.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Public Works Committee Act 1913-1953, the following Members be appointed members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works, viz.:—Mr. Bird, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Cramer, Mr. Lawrence, Mr. O'Connor and Mr. Watkins. Question—put and passed.
- 9. ROYAL COMMISSION ON ESPIONAGE BILL 1954.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), pursuant to leave given on the 5th August, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act relating to the Royal Commission on Espionage", and moved, That it be now read a first time.

 Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

 Mr. Monzies moved. That the Bill he may read a second time.

Mr. Menzies moved, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Debate adjourned (Mr. Evatt-Leader of the Opposition), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

10. Foreign Affairs—Ministerial Statement—Motion for Printing Paper.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), That the Paper [presented on the 5th August, 1954], viz.:—
Foreign Affairs—Ministerial Statement, 5th August, 1954—

be printed—

Debate resumed.

Debate adjourned (Mr. E. James Harrison), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

11. Adjournment.—Sir Eric Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Beazley*, Mr. Davies, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Fuller, Mr. Holt, Mr. James, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Opperman and Mr. Roberton.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.