THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 158.

WEDNESDAY, 30TH SEPTEMBER, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Peters presented a petition from certain employees of the Commonwealth Public Service praying that this House will give further consideration to amending the Commonwealth Employees' Furlough Act so that temporary employees may enjoy a right which in justice should be theirs.

Petition received and read.

3. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Explosives Act—Regulations—Order—Berthing of a Vessel.

Pearl Fisheries Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, No. 84.

Services Trust Funds Act—Services Canteens Trust Fund—Report for 1952.
Whaling Industry Act—Fourth Annual Report of the Australian Whaling Commission, for period 1st April, 1952, to 31st March, 1953.

4. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS .- Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Question—put and passed.

5. Supply—Estimates 1953-54.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Department of Immigration, £1,267,000"— Vote—" Department of Labour and National Service, £1,860,000"—

Vote—" Department of National Development, £906,000"—
Vote—" Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, £3,660,000"—

Vote-" Australian Atomic Energy Commission, £368,000"-

Votes debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at a later hour this day, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. COMMONWEALTH FINANCE MINISTERS' CONFERENCE—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House that arrangements had been made to hold a meeting of the Finance Ministers of the Commonwealth in Sydney during January, 1954.

Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, also made a Statement in connexion with the matter.

7. Supply—Estimates 1953-54.—The House, according to Order, again resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Vote—" Department of Immigration, £1,267,000"—

Vote—" Department of Labour and National Service, £1,860,000"—

Vote—" Department of National Development, £906,000"—
Vote—" Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, £3,660,000"—

Vote-" Australian Atomic Energy Commission, £368,000"-

Votes further debated and agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

8. Adjournment.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Griffiths addressing the House—

Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put. .

30th September, 1953.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 54.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Bland Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Corser Mr. Davis Mr. Dean	Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Failes Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Freeth Mr. Graham Mr. Grayden Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kekwick Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Lawrence Mr. Leslie	Mr. Luck Mr. Lucock Mr. Mackinnon Sir P. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Roberton	Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Gullett Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 41.	1.271 1100011001	
Mr. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce Mr. Bryson Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark Mr. Costa Mr. Crean Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin Mr. Duthie Mr. Ewert Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Galvin Mr. Greenup Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. Joshua Mr. Keon	Mr. Luchetti Mr. McLeod Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. Mullens Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Stewart	Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Mr. Whitlam Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at nineteen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Berry, Mr. Casey, Mr. Davies, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Hulme, Mr. James, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Treloar and Mr. Turner.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.