## 1951 - 52 - 53.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### No. 156.

### FRIDAY, 25TH SEPTEMBER, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPERS .- The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-Public Service Act—Appointments—Department-Interior—C. K. Waller. Repatriation-T. Crisp, J. T. Quinlan.
- 3. PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE-REPORT.-Mr. Bland (Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Joint Committee of Public Accounts :---Fourth Report-Department of National Development. Ordered to be printed.
- 4. SUPPLY-ESTIMATES 1953-54.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

#### (In the Committee.)

Remainder of Vote-" Parliament, £745,000 "-

Kemainder of Vote— Farmanent, £135,000 — Vote—" Prime Minister's Department, £2,059,000 "— Vote—" Department of External Affairs, £1,915,000 "— Vote—" Department of the Treasury, £8,071,000 "— Vote—" Attorney-General's Department, £1,320,000 "—

Votes further debated.

Limitation of Debate.--At fifteen minutes past twelve o'clock p.m., the Chairman having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put and passed.

Vote—" Department of the Interior, £3,510,000 "— Vote—" Department of Works, £2,274,000 "— Vote—" Department of Civil Aviation, £10,858,000 "—

Vote— Department of Givin Aviation, 210,000,000 "– Vote—" Department of Trade and Customs, £3,370,000 "– Vote—" Department of Health, £1,281,000 "— considered together.

- Votes debated.
- Member Ordered to withdraw from the Committee.—Mr. Bryson, for disobeving the Chair, was ordered by the Chairman to withdraw from the Committee. The honorable Member accordingly withdrew. Debate continued.
- Member re-admitted to the Committee .-- Mr. Bryson, by permission of the Chairman, was re-admitted to the Committee.
- Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed ; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Ward addressing the House-Closure.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.2180.

ie House divided (Th	é Speaker, Mr. A. (	<i>i</i> . Cameron, in the Cl	hair)	
		Ayes, 50.		
Mr. Adermanu	Mr. Downer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Timson
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. Luck	Mr. Townley
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drury	Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Beale	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wight
Mr. Bland	Mr. Failes	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Holt	Mr. McColm	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hulme	Mr. McLeay	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. McMahon	Tellers :
Mr. Brown	Mr. Francis	Mr. Joske	Mr. Opperman	
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Davis	Mr. Graham	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Turnbull
		NoES, 27.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Crean	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Greenup	Mr. Riordau	
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Russell	Tellers :
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Stewart	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Ewert	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Daly
Mr. Costa	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward	Mr. Fuller
id so it was resolved	in the affirmative			

The H • • 7 (11) ~ ~

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at two minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Berry, Mr. Bird, Mr. Bruce, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. D. A. Cameron, Mr. Casey, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Davies, Mr. Dean, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Howse, Mr. McEwen, Mr. McLeod, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Mullens, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Osborne, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Treloar and Mr. Wheeler.

## F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

692

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra