## 1951 - 52 - 53.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

# **REPRESENTATIVES.** HOUSE OF

#### No. 133.

### FRIDAY, 6TH MARCH, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. WITHDRAWAL OF OFFENSIVE WORDS-SPEAKER'S RULING-MOTION OF DISSENT.-Mr. Calwell having asked for the withdrawal of certain words used by Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), and Mr. Menzies having withdrawn one of the words complained of and having declined to withdraw the remaining words, Mr. Speaker ruled that Mr. Menzies must withdraw all the words as it is customary for this to be done when an honorable Member considers words to be personally offensive and asks for their withdrawal.
  - Dissent from Ruling .- Mr. Menzies having handed in, in writing, an objection to the Ruling, moved, That the Ruling be dissented from.
  - Debate ensued.

Several Members rising to address the House-Closure.-Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		Ayes, 47.		
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Roberton
Mr. Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson
Mr. Beale	Mr. Downer	Harrison	Mr. Lucoek	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Holt	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Howse	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Menzies	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Joske	Mr. Opperman	Tellers :
Mr. Corser	Mr. Graham	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Lawrence	Sir E. Page	Mr. Turnbull
		Noes, 32.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Ewert	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Crean	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Morgan	
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Mr. James	Mr. Mulcahy	Tellers:
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Johnson	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Peters	Mr. Daly
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the Ruling be dissented from-being accordingly put-The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 47.		
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Roberton
Mr Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. Luck	Mr. Timson
Mr. Beale	Mr. Downer	Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Turner
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Haworth	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Holt	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Howse	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Menzies	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Joske	Mr. Opperman	Tellers :
Mr. Corser	Mr. Graham	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Gullett
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Lawrence	Sir E. Page	Mr. Turnbull
		NoES, 32.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Ewert	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Crean	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Morgan	
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Mr. James	Mr. Mulcahy	Tellers:
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Johnson	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Peters	Mr. Daly
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

F.2180.

3.	<ul> <li>PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Customs Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, No. 13.</li> <li>Egg Export Charges Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, Nos. 12.</li> <li>Naval Defence Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, Nos. 14, 17, 19.</li> <li>Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of the Parliamentary Library—A. Nolan.</li> <li>Quarantine Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, No. 15.</li> <li>Spirits Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, No. 16.</li> <li>Supply and Development Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1953, No. 18.</li> </ul>
4.	JOINT COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS—REPORT.—Mr. Bland (Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Joint Committee of Public Accounts :— First Report, for year 1952-53—Supplementary Estimates 1951-52. Ordered to be printed.
5.	<ul> <li>BANKING BILL 1953.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—</li> <li>Debate resumed.</li> <li>Ordered—That Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition) be granted an extension of time.</li> <li>Debate continued.</li> <li>Mr. D. A. Cameron moved, That the debate be now adjourned.</li> <li>Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.</li> <li>Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.</li> </ul>
6.	ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.
And	then the House, at ten minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT .- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, ERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Berry, Mr. Brimblecombe, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bruce, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clark, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Davies, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Drury, Mr. Edmonds, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. Francis, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Griffiths, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Hasluck, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Keon, Mr. Lawson, Mr. McColm, Mr. McDonald, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Mullens, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Russell, Mr. Swartz, Mr. Thompson, Mr. Townley, Mr. Treloar and Mr. Wight.

> A. A. TREGEAR, Clerk Assistant, House of Representatives.