THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 131.

WEDNESDAY, 4TH MARCH, 1953.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Nauru—Report to General Assembly of the United Nations on Administration of Nauru for year 1951-52.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute-

Lands Acquisition Act-Easement acquired for Defence purposes-Richmond, New South

3. MEAT EXPORT CONTROL BILL 1953.-Mr. McEwen (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture), pursuant to leave given on the 26th February, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act to amend the 'Meat Export Control Act 1935-1950'" and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Mr. McEwen moved, by leave, That the Bill be now read a second time.
Mr. Calwell moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. DAIRY PRODUCE EXPORT CONTROL BILL 1953.—Mr. McEwen (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture), pursuant to leave given on the 26th February, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act to amend the Dairy Produce Export Control Act 1924-1947" and moved, That it be now read a

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Mr. McEwen moved, by leave, That the Bill be now read a second time. Mr. Calwell moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

5. Egg Export Control Bill 1953.—Mr. McEwen (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture), pursuant to leave given on the 26th February, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act to amend the 'Egg Export Control Act 1947–1951'" and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Mr. McEwen moved, by leave, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Mr. Calwell moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS .- Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council), moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Question—put and passed.

7. Commonwealth Bank Bill 1953.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Mr. Ward addressing the House— Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.2180.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 49.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Turner
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. Luck	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Hasluck	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drury	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McLeay	
Mr. Bostock	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Tellers:
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Mr. Howse	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jack	Sir E. Page	Mr. Opperman
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Joske	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Casey	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Timson	
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Townley	
		Noes, 35.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clark	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan	
Mr. Beazlev	Mr. Costa	Mr. James	Mr. Mulcahy	Tellera:
Mr. Bird	Mr. Crean	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Mullens	
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Joshua	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Daly
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Keon	Mr. Peters	Mr. Sheehan
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Ewert	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Watkins	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Bill be now read a second time—being accordingly put—The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 50.					
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Davis	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Townley			
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Turner			
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. Luck	Mr. Wentworth			
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drummond	Harrison	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wheeler			
Mr. Bland	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hasluck	Sir P. McBride	Mr. Wilson			
Mr. Bostock	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McLeay				
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Tellers:			
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Howse	Mr. Osborne				
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Jack	Sir E. Page	Mr. Opperman			
Mr. Casey	Mr. Graham	Mr. Joske	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Turnbull			
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Timson				
Noes, 35.							
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Whitlam			
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clark	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan				
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Costa	Mr. James	Mr. Mulcahy	Tellers:			
Mr. Bird	Mr. Crean	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Mullens				
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Joshua	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Daly			
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Keon	Mr. Peters	Mr. Sheehan			
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Ward				
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Ewert	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Watkins				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1—

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

8. Adjournment.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at fifteen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Berry, Mr. Brimblecombe, Mr. Bruce, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Davies, Mr. Drakeford, Mr. Edmonds, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Francis, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. Fuller, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lawson, Mr. McDonald, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Pollard, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Russell, Mr. Swartz, Mr. Thompson, Mr. Treloar and Mr. Wight.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.