## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 80.

## WEDNESDAY, 13TH AUGUST, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petitions.—Mr. Peters presented a petition from certain electors of the Division of Burke praying that the rate of Age and Invalid Pensions be increased to at least £4 per week.
  - Mr. Daly presented a petition from a Branch Secretary of the Australian Third Division Telegraphists and Postal Clerks' Union praying that action be taken by the Parliament to rectify an injustice which he considers exists under Section 8 of the Commonwealth Employees' Furlough Act. Petitions severally received and read.
- 3. Release of Australian Airmen-Ministerial Statement.-Mr. Casey (Minister for External Affairs), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House of the release of three Australian airmen who had been held in China since their aircraft crashed in December, 1950.

4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute——Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for Defence purposes—Richmond, New South Wales. Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Defence—K. C. Duncan.

Public Service (Arbitration) Act—Determinations—1952-

No. 52—Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Enginemen.

Nos. 53 and 54—Australian Workers' Union.

- 5. Suspension of Standing Orders.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, by leave, That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) from making his speech in Committee of Supply on the Budget without limitation Question—put and passed.
- 6. Supply-Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1-Senate—namely-

Salaries and allowances

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Evatt, viz. :- That the first item be reduced

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bowden reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Pollard addressing the House-

Closure.--Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.2180.

13th August, 1952.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 51.		
Mr. Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Timson
Mr. Beale	Mr. Downer	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Berry	Mr. Drury	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Luck	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. McBride	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Harrison	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wight
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Haeluck	Mr. Osborne	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Haworth	Sir E. Page	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pearce	Tellers:
Mr. Corser	Mr. Francis	Mr. Joske	Mr. Roberton	
vir. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Davis	Mr. Graham	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Opperman
		Noes, 32.		
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Costa	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Watkins
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Crean	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Mulcahy	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Keon	Mr. Mullens	Tellers:
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Peters	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Daly
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Fuller	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at three minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Bland, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Duthie, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. McDonald, Mr. O'Connor, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Townley and Mr. Treloar.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.