THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 59.

FRIDAY, 29TH FEBRUARY, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PRINTING COMMITTEE—THIRD REPORT.—Mr. Wilson (Chairman) brought up the Third Report from the Printing Committee (sitting in conference with the Printing Committee of the Senate). The Report was read by the Clerk, as follows:-

REPORT.

The Printing Committee have the honour to report that they have met in Conference with the Printing Committee of the Senate.

The Joint Committee, having considered the Petitions and Papers presented to Parliament since the last meeting of the Committee, recommend that the following be printed:

Commonwealth Committee on Taxation—Reports—

Coal Mining Industry—Concessional Allowances.

Mining Industries.

International Monetary Agreements Act-Annual Report on operations of the Act, and in so far as they relate to Australia, of the International Monetary Fund Agreement and the International Bank Agreement, for year 1950-51.

Nauru-Report to General Assembly of the United Nations on Administration of Nauru for year 1950-51.

New Guinea-Report to General Assembly of the United Nations on Administration of New Guinea for year 1950-51.

War Service Homes Act—Annual Report for year 1950-51.

K. CAMERON WILSON,

Chairman.

28th February, 1952.

Mr. Wilson moved, by leave, That the Report be agreed to. Question—put and passed.

- 3. Foreign Affairs—Joint Committee.—Mr. Casey (Minister for External Affairs) moved, by leave—
 - (1) That Mr. Bostock, Mr. Downer, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Osborne, Mr. Roberton, Mr. Ryan and Mr. Wentworth be members of the Joint Committee appointed to consider such matters concerning foreign affairs as are referred to it by the Minister for External Affairs.
 - (2) That the foregoing resolution be communicated to the Senate by Message.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

- 4. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute— Defence Forces Retirement Benefits Act-Third Report of the Defence Forces Retirement Benefits Board, for year 1950-51.
- 5. SECURITY TREATY (AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA) BILL 1952.— The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time--

Debate resumed.

Mr. Daly moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

F.2180.

29th February, 1952.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Wentworth addressing the House-

Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 47.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Davis	Mr. Gravden	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Timson
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm	Mr. Treloar
Mr. Beale	Mr. Downer	Mr. Eric J.	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Drury	Harrison	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Opperman	Mr. Wilson
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Howse	Mr. Osborne	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Francis	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pearce	Tellers:
Mr. Corser	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Joske	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett
Noms, 21.				
Mr. Andrews	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Rosevear	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Russell	Mr. Daly
Mr. Crean	Mr. E. James	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Sheehan
Mr. Fitzgerald	Harrison	Mr. Peters	Mr. Ward	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at six minutes to one o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bate, Mr. Berry, Mr. Bird, Mr. Bland, Mr. Bruce, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clarey, Mr. Clark, Mr. Cremean, Mr. Drummond, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Kekwick, Mr. Keon, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Luck, Mr. McLeod, Mr. McMahon, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Mullens, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Townley and Mr. Wight.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.