## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 29.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

### HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### TUESDAY, 5TH SEPTEMBER, 1905.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. McLean presented a Petition from the President, Vice-Presidents, and Council of the Victorian Chamber of Manufactures, praying that the House will strike Part VII. out of the Trade Marks Bill entirely.

  Petition received.
- 3. Supply.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply. Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Salmon reported that the Committee had made progress, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.

  Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.
- 4. Postponement of Orders of the Day.—Ordered—That the consideration of the remaining Orders of the Day, Government Business, be postponed until to-morrow.
- 5. STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE—MEMBER DISCHARGED FROM ATTENDANCE.—Mr. Deakin moved, pursuant to notice, That the honorable Member for Gippsland (Mr. McLean) be discharged from attendance on the Standing Orders Committee.

  Debate ensued.

And the House continuing to sit till after midnight—

#### WEDNESDAY, 6th SEPTEMBER, 1905.

Debate continued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

6. Adjournment.—Count Out.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Joseph Cook called the attention of Mr. Speaker to the fact that a quorum of Members was not present.

The bells having been rung, and a quorum not having been obtained within the prescribed time, the Speaker thereupon at nineteen minutes past twelve o'clock midnight adjourned the House until this day at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Cameron, Mr. Conroy, Mr. Ewing, Mr. Fowler, Mr. Frazer, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Kingston\*, Mr. Lonsdale, Sir William Lyne, Mr. McColl\*, Mr. Phillips, Mr. Poynton, Sir John Quick, Mr. Reid, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. Dugald Thomson, Mr. Watkins, Mr. Webster, and Mr. Wilks.

\*On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.