49

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 19.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

WEDNESDAY, 27th APRIL, 1904.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. RESIGNATION OF LATE, AND FORMATION OF NEW MINISTRY.—Mr. Watson informed the House that he had been invited by His Excellency the Governor-General to form a new Ministry, and read from a copy of this day's Government Gazette a list showing that, accordingly, a new Ministry had been formed as follows:-

The Honorable John Christian Watson to be Treasurer;

The Honorable William Morris Hughes to be Minister of State for External Affairs;

The Honorable Henry Bournes Higgins, K.C., to be Attorney-General; The Honorable Egerton Lee Batchelor to be Minister of State for Home Affairs;

The Honorable Andrew Fisher to be Minister of State for Trade and Customs;

The Honorable Anderson Dawson to be Minister of State for Defence;

The Honorable Hugh Mahon to be Postmaster-General; and that

The Honorable Gregor McGregor had been called to the Executive Council as Vice-President of that body.

Mr. Deakin subsequently informed the House of the resignation of the late Ministry.

3. Special Adjournment.—Mr. Watson moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday. 18th May next.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

4. PAPERS.—Mr. Watson presented by command of His Excellency the Governor-General-

Bisley Rifle Team—Recommendations made by Major-General Sir Edward Hutton, General Officer Commanding the Military Forces of the Commonwealth, on the subject of sending an Australian Rifle Team to Bisley.

Mr. Batchelor presented by command of His Excellency the Governor-General-

Federal Capital—Proposed Sites—Minute by the Right Honorable Sir John Forrest, P.C., G.C.M.G., on the localities in the Tumut and Southern Monaro Districts of New South Wales, suggested as sites for the Seat of Government of the Commonwealth.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table.

5. Denison Electoral Division.—Order of the Court of Disputed Returns.—The Clerk laid upon the Table a letter which he had received from the District Registrar of the High Court at Hobart. The letter was read by the Clerk, and is as follows :-

High Court of Australia.

Tasmania District Registry, Hobart, 20th April, 1904.

The Clerk of the House of Representatives, Melbourne.

SIR,

FIn accordance with Section 202 of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1902, I have the honour to inform you that the Petition against the return of Sir P. O. Fysh as Member for the Electoral District of Denison, in Tasmania, in the House of Representatives was, on the 18th inst., dismissed, with costs.

It is improbable that an order will be taken out in the matter.

I have the honour to be,

Sir.

Your obedient servant, PHILIP S. SEAGER. District Registrar. 6. Adjournment.—Mr. Watson moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at twenty-nine minutes past three o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday, 18th May next, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—Mr. Cameron, Mr. Conroy, Mr. Kingston*, and Mr. Bruce Smith.

On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.