THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 3.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

FRIDAY, 4TH MARCH, 1904.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Ewing presented a Petition from certain citizens of the States of New South Wales and Victoria, praying that the House will make speedy provision during the present Session for the passage of a Bill which will provide for a bonus for or a duty on wire netting, and thus afford reasonable encouragement, to private enterprise in continuing the wire [netting industry in Australia.

Petition received.

- 3. Papers.—Mr. Deakin presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—
 - S.S. Petriana—History of the Case, and Correspondence relating thereto. Transvaal—Correspondence relating to the introduction of Asiatics into.
- Severally ordered to lie on the Table.
- 4. Address in Reply to His Excellency the Governor-General's Speech.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General, be agreed to by this House:—

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY:

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, beg to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

Debate resumed.

Mr. McLean moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.

5. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at six minutes to three o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present except—Mr. Gibb, Mr. Glynn, Mr. Harper, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Isaacs, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. McCay, Mr. McColl, Sir Malcolm McEacharn, Sir John Quick, Mr. Reid, Mr. Bruce Smith, and Mr. Wilson.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.