### THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### No. 71.

#### WEDNESDAY, 15TH NOVEMBER, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—
  Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—
  Civil Aviation—S. N. Kiek.
  Works and Housing—A. C. Brayne, E. J. Lauri.
- 3. Post and Telegraph Rates Bill 1950.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—Debate resumed.

Mr. T. P. Burke was granted leave to continue his speech at a later stage of the debate.

Debate continued.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Deputy Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole, and agreed to, after debate. Bill to be reported without amendment.

The House resumed; Mr. McDonald reported accordingly.

On the motion of Mr. Beale (Minister for Supply), the House adopted the Report, and, by leave, the Bill was read a third time.

4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Lands Acquisition Act-Land acquired for-

Department of the Interior purposes—Meekatharra, Western Australia.

Postal purposes—Perth, Western Australia.

5. Adjournment.—Mr Beale (Minister for Supply) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Ordered—That Mr. Duthic be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at eighteen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. W. M. Bourke, Mr. Bowden\*, Mr. A. G. Cameron\*, Mr. Edmonds\*, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Fitzgerald\*, Mr. Freeth\*, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Eric J. Harrison\*, Mr. Howse, Mr. Lazzarini, Dame Enid Lyons\*, Mr. McColm, Mr. McEwen, Sir Earle Page, Mr. E. H. D. Russell\*, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Spender\*, Mr. Watkins\*, and Mr. B. M. Wight.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.