THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 64.

TUESDAY, 31st OCTOBER, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Adermann) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. COMMONWEALTH PARLIAMENTARY ASSOCIATION VISITORS.—Mr. Deputy Speaker informed the House that delegates from the Union of South Africa and Southern Rhodesia Branches of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, who were en route to New Zealand, were present in the gallery of the House.

On behalf of the House, Mr. Deputy Speaker extended a cordial welcome to the visiting delegates.

- 3. Leave of Absence to Members.—Mr. Fadden (Treasurer) moved, That leave of absence for one month be given to the Speaker (Mr. A. G. Cameron) and the Minister for External Affairs (Mr. Spender), and for two months to the Minister for the Interior (Mr. Eric J. Harrison), on the ground of urgent public business.
- 4. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Aluminium Industry Act—Australian Aluminium Production Commission—Fifth Annual Report, for year 1949-50.

Commonwealth Bank Act-Appointment Certificate-M. M. Bourke.

Communist Party Dissolution Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1950, No. 67.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for—

Postal purposes—

Campbell Town, Tasmania.

Dungowan, New South Wales.

Repatriation Commission purposes—Perth, Western Australia.

5. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1.—Senate—namely—

Salaries and allowances

£13.900

be agreed to.

Mr. Pollard moved, That Mr. C. R. Cameron be granted an extension of time.

Question—put

The Committee divided (The Deputy Chairman, Mr. Ryan, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 34.		
Mr. G. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Morgan	Tellers:
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Mulcahy	
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Fraser	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. C. R. Cameron
Mr. Bird	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Peters	Mr. Daly
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Davies	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Pollard	•
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Sheehan	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Ward	
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Watkins	

F.332.

31st October, 1950.

		Noes, 52.	*	
Mr. C. G. W.	Mr. Drury	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Townley
Anderson	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Howse	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Treloar
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Hughes	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Beale	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Opperman	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Sir E. Page	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Pearce	Mr. T. W. White
Mr. Brown	Mr. Francis	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Pittard	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Casey	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Roberton	
Mr. Davis	Mr. Graham	Mr. McBride	Mr. C. W. Russell	Tellers:
Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Downer	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Timson	Mr. Gullett

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Ryan reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. White (Minister for Air) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Ordered-That Mr. Calwell be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at fourteen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. W. M. Bourke, Mr. A. G. Cameron*, Mr. D. A. Cameron, Mr. Clark, Mr. Cramer, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Grayden, Mr. E. James Harrison, Mr. Eric J. Harrison*, Mr. Holloway, Mr. James, Mr. Kekwick, Mr. Keon, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Leslie, Dame Enid Lyons*, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. E. H. D. Russell, Mr. Spender*, Mr. Thompson and Mr. B. M. Wight.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.