THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 51.

THURSDAY, 28TH SEPTEMBER, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Mr. Davies presented a Petition from 3,451 citizens of New South Wales praying that action be taken to increase pensions to at least fifty per centum of the basic wage with provision for quarterly wage adjustments. Petition received and read.
- 3. COMMUNIST PARTY DISSOLUTION BILL 1950 [No. 2].—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to provide for the Dissolution of the Australian Communist Organizations, to disqualify Communists from holding certain Offices, and for purposes connected therewith.

Question—put and passed.

Mr. Menzies then brought up the Bill accordingly, and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Declaration of Bill as Urgent Bill.—Mr. Menzies declared that the Bill was an Urgent Bill. Question—That the Bill be considered an Urgent Bill—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 68.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Dean	Mr. Handby	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Treloar
Mr. C. G. W.	Mr. Downer	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Turnbull
Anderson	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Drury	Mr. Holt	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bate	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Howse	Mr. Opperman	Mr. T. W. White
Mr. Beale	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Osborne	Mr. B. M. Wignt
Mr. Berry	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Sir E. Page	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Jack	Mr. Pearce	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pittard	
Mr. Brown	Mr. Francis	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Roberton	
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. C. W. Russell	
Mr. Casey	Mr. Gilmore	Mr. Leslie	Mr. Ryan	Tellers:
Mr. Corser	Mr. Graham	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Swartz	
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. McBride	Mr. Timson	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Davis	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McColm	Mr. Townley	Mr. Gullett
			•	
•		Noes, 44.		
Mr. G. Anderson	Mr. Clark	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. E. James	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Cremean	Harrison	Mr. Mulcahy	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bird.	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Mullens	
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Holloway	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. James	Mr. Peters	
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Keon	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Chifley	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. C. R. Cameron
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fraser	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Sheehan	Mr. Daly
	in the offine tire			•

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Allotment of Time.—Mr. Menzies then moved, That the time allotted in connexion with the Bill be as follows:

- (a) For the second reading, until 4.30 p.m., Tuesday, 3rd October.
- (b) For the Committee stage, until 10.30 p.m., Tuesday, 3rd October.

(c) For the remaining stages, until 11 p.m., Tuesday, 3rd October. Debate ensued.

28th September, 1950.

The time allowed by Standing Order No. 93 for the discussion of the motion having expired—Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

		AYES, 67.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McBride	Mr. Swartz
Mr. C. G. W.	Mr. Downer	Mr. Handby	Mr. McColm	Mr. Timson
Anderson	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Townley
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drury	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McLeay	Mr. Treloar
Mr. Beale	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Berry	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Howse	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Bostock	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Opperman	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Osborne	Mr. T. W. White
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Jack	Sir E. Page	Mr. B. M. Wight
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Francis	Mr. Kekwick	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Casey	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Pittard	
Mr. Corser	Mr. Gilmore	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton	Tellers:
Mr. Cramer	Mr. Graham	Mr. Leslie	Mr. C. W. Russell	Mr. Davidson
Mr. Davis	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Gullett
MI. Davis	Mir. Grayaen	mii. Maddiimidii	nar. My mar	mir. Gunevo
		Noes, 44.		
Mr. G. Anderson	Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Clark	Mr. Fraser	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Costa	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Bird	Mr. Cremean	Mr. E. James	Mr. Mulcahy	1111
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Harrison	Mr. Mullens	
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Davies	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Holloway	Mr. Peters	Tellers:
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Duthie	Mr. James	Mr. Pollard	
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Riordan	Mr. C. R. Cameron
Mr. Chifley	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Keon	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Daly
Mr. Chiney	MIT. EVALL	MIT. IXCOII	mi, moseveal	mi. Daiy

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. Menzies moved, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Debate ensued.

Mr. T. P. Burke moved, That Mr. Ward be granted an extension of time.

Question—put and negatived.

Debate continued.

Ordered—That Mr. Chifley (Leader of the Opposition) be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Mr. Clarey moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Beale (Minister for Supply) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-four minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Eric J. Harrison, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. McEwen, Mr. E. H. D. Russell and Mr. Spender.

A. A. TREGEAR,

 $Clerk\hbox{-} Assistant, \textit{Horse of Representatives}.$