## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

#### OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

## No. 37.

### TUESDAY, 30TH MAY, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. SITUATION IN MALAYA-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT-MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.-Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with reference to the situation in Malaya and informed the House that the Government was giving consideration to the question of ways and means of assisting the United Kingdom Government in its problem in Malaya. Mr. Menzies then, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General, laid upon the Table the following Paper :-Situation in Malaya-Ministerial Statement-

and moved, That the Paper be printed.

Mr. Evatt moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed. Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

3. PAPERS.-The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Commonwealth Public Service Act-Appointments-Department-

Civil Aviation—B. M. Hall. Defence—R. L. George.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land, &c., acquired for— Banking purposes—Whyalla, South Australia.

Defence purposes-

Cannon Hill, Queensland.

Garbutt, Queensland.

Port Kembla, New South Wales.

Immigration purposes-East Hills, New South Wales.

Postal purposes-

Crystal Brook, South Australia.

Stirling West, South Australia.

Seat of Government Acceptance Act and Seat of Government (Administration) Act-

National Memorials Ordinance-Determination regarding the nomenclature of public places in the Canberra City District, together with Plan (dated 24th May, 1950).

4. SOCIAL SERVICES CONSOLIDATION BILL 1950 .- The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Ordered-That Mr. Holt (Minister representing the Minister for Social Services) be granted an extension of time.

Question-put and passed.-Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 1 and 2 agreed to. Clause 3 debated-Question—That the clause be agreed to--put. F.332.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)-

		AYES, 41.		
Mr. G. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley	Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark Mr. Costa Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin Mr. Davies Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Evatt Mr. Fraser Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Mr. Keon Mr. Lawson	Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. Mullens Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear	Mr. E. H. D. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins <i>Tellers</i> : Mr. Daly Mr. Sheehan
		Noes, 59.		
Mr. C. G. W. Anderson Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cramer Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis	Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Eggins Mr. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Freeth Mr. Grayden Mr. Handby	Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Kekwick Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Lawrence Mr. Leslie Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McBride Mr. McColm	Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Pittard Mr. Roberton Mr. C. W. Russell Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Swartz Mr. Timson	Mr. Townley Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. B. M. Wight <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett

And so it was negatived.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. ADJOURNMENT.---Mr. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

- And then the House, at twenty-two minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bryson, Mr. T. P. Burke, Mr. Fitzgerald, Mr. Gilmore, Mr. Graham, Mr. Eric J. Harrison\*, Mr. James\*, Mr. Johnson, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. McLeay, Mr. McMahon, Mr. Mulcahy\*, Sir Earle Page, Mr. T. W. White and Mr. Wilson.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.