## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 26.

### WEDNESDAY, 3RD MAY, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DISTINGUISHED VISITOR.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that Admiral A. W. Radford, Commander-in-Chief, United States Pacific Fleet, was within the precincts. The distinguished visitor thereupon, with the concurrence of honorable Members, was provided with a seat on the floor of the House.
  - Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) and Mr. Chifley (Leader of the Opposition) welcomed Admiral Radford to the House and to Australia and expressed appreciation of the services of the United States Navy during the war years.
- 3. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m. Question—put and passed.
- 4. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute—
  Bankruptcy Act—Twenty-first Annual Report by Attorney-General, for year ended 31st
  July, 1949.
- COMMONWEALTH BANK BILL 1950.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration
  of this Bill in Committee of the whole House—
  Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 10 further debated-

Question-That the clause be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Adermann, in the Chair)—

#### AYES, 58. Mr. Drummond W. Mr. Hasluck C. G. Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hulme Anderson Mr. Drury Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Eggins Mr. Fadden Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Mr. Pearce Mr. Wheeler Mr. B. M. Wight Mr. Failes Mr. Wilson Mr. Hairbairn Mr. Fairhall Mr. Bowden Mr. Jack Mr. Pittard Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Kekwick Mr. Lawrence Mr. Leslie Mr. Roberton Mr. C. W. Russell Mr. Falkinder Tellers: Mr. Freeth Mr. Ryan Mr. Corser Mr. Cramer Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McColm Mr. Spender Mr. Swartz Mr. Townley Mr. Gilmore Mr. Davidson Mr. Graham Mr. Gullett Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Grayden Mr. McDonald Mr. Treloar Mr. Hamilton Mr. McEwen Noes, 43. Mr. G. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Beazley Mr. Clarey Mr. Fraser Mr. Minogue Mr. Ward Mr. Clark Mr. Costa Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Mr. Morgan Mr. Mullens Mr. Watkins Mr. E. Harrison Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bryson Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin Mr. Davies Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Tellers: Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Johnson Mr. Daly Mr. Rosevear Mr. E. H. D. Russell Mr. Sheehan Mr. Keon Mr. Edmonds Mr. Lawson Mr. Chambers Mr. Fitzgerald Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Thompson

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

F.332.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Adermann reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. Adjournment.—Mr. Spender (Minister for External Affairs) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at half-past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anthony, Mr. Bostock, Mr. Davis, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Handby, Mr. Eric J. Harrison, Mr. James, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Mulcahy and Mr. Timson.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.