THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 10.

TUESDAY, 14TH MARCH, 1950.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Suspension of Standing Orders—Precedence to Notice of Motion.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent, before the Address in Reply is adopted, Notice of Motion No. 1 (Objection to Speaker's Ruling) taking precedence of all other Business until disposed of. Question—put and passed.
- 3. Objection to Speaker's Ruling .-- Mr. Evatt moved, pursuant to notice, That the Ruling of Mr. Speaker given on Thursday, 9th March, in relation to Notice of Motion No. 1, ruling such motion out of order as a result of the objection of the Right Honorable the Prime Minister-be disagreed with.

Debate ensued.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

| | | AYES, 43. | | • |
|---|---|--|---|--|
| Mr. G. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Beazley Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bryson Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Chambers | Mr. Chifley Mr. Clarey Mr. Clark Mr. Costa Mr. Cremean Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Evatt | Mr. Fitzgerald Mr. Fraser Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Mr. Johnson Mr. Keon Mr. Lawson | Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Mullens Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. E. H. D. Russell | Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Daly Mr. Sheehan |
| | | Noes, 60. | | |
| Mr. Adermann Mr. C. G. W. Anderson Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Corser And so it was negativ | Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drury Mr. Eggins Mr. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Gilmore Mr. Graham | Mr. Grayden Mr. Hamilton Mr. Handby Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hughes Mr. Jack Mr. Kekwick Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Mackinnon Mr. McBride | Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Menzies Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pittard Mr. Roberton Mr. C. W. Russell Mr. Ryan Mr. Timson Mr. Townley | Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. T. W. White Mr. B. M. Wight Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett |

4. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question-That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to :-

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

Debate resumed.

Ordered—That Mr. Evatt be granted an extension of time.

Ordered—That Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) be granted an extension of time. Ordered—That Mr. T. P. Burke be granted an extension of time.

F.332.

Ordered-That Mr. Anthony (Postmaster-General) be granted an extension of time.

Mr. Timson moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Holt (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

The debate having been closed by Mr. Holt having spoken in reply— Suspension of Standing Orders.—Mr. Holt moved, by leave, That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent the debate being continued.

Question—put and passed.

Debate continued.

Question—That the House do now adjourn—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-seven minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Drummond, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Freeth, Mr. Eric J. Harrison, Mr. Hulme, Mr. James, Mr. Leslie, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Opperman, Mr. Swartz and Mr. Watkins.

> F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.