THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 119.

WEDNESDAY, 28TH SEPTEMBER, 1949.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.--The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Adjournment-Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. Menzies (Leader of the Opposition) rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The invasions of freedom of speech, choice, listening, and business enterprise which result from the Political Broadcasts (Federal Elections) Order made by the Australian Broadcasting Control Board under the Australian Broadcasting Act 1942-1948 and tabled in this House yesterday".

Mr. Deputy Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly—Mr. Menzies moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Ordered—That Mr. Fadden be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Several members rising to address the House-

Closure.—Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question be now put.

Question-That the question be now put-put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)-

He House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Chark, in the Chart,	
Ayes, 35.	Noes, 24.
Mr. Barnard Mr. Lawson Mr. Aderm Mr. Beazley Mr. Lemmon Mr. Anthon Mrs. Blackburn Mr. McLeod Mr. Beale Mr. Calwell Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Camer Mr. Chambers Mr. O'Connor Mr. Davids Mr. Chifley Mr. Pollard Mr. Fadded Mr. Daly Mr. Riordan Mr. Falkin Mr. Dedman Mr. Russell Mr. Franci Mr. Drakeford Mr. Scully Mr. Hamil Mr. Duthie Mr. Sheehy Mr. Harris Mr. Edmonds Mr. Thompson Mr. Hughe Mr. Fraser Mr. Ward Mr. Hutch Mr. Fraser Mr. Watkins Mr. Lang Mr. Hadley	my Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies ron Sir Earle Page son Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender is Mr. Turnbull Mr. White ron mes

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

F.4574.

28th September, 1949.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—being accordingly put— The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—

	Ayes, 23.		Noes, 34.
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson	Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley	Mr. Lawson Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor
Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser	Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Evatt Mr. Fraser	Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward
Mr. McBride	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Gaha Mr. Hadley Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry	Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

- 3. Postponement of Business.—Ordered—That the intervening business be postponed until after Notice of Motion No. 1, Government Business.
- 4. School at Alice Springs—Approval of Work.—Mr. Lemmon (Minister for Works and Housing) moved, pursuant to notice, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Commonwealth Public Works Committee Act 1913-1947, it is expedient to carry out the following proposed work which was referred to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works and on which the Committee has duly reported to this House the results of its investigations, namely:—Construction of a new school at Alice Springs.

 Question—put and passed.
- 5. Supply—Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1.— Senate—namely—

Salaries and allowances £12,400

be agreed to. Mr. Spender moved, That Mr. Hutchinson be granted an extension of time.

Question—put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Sheehy, in the Chair)—

		` L		·
		Ayes, 22.		Noes, 36.
Mr.	Adermann Anthony Beale Cameron Davidson Fadden Falkinder Francis Hamilton Harrison Hughes Hutchinson	Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Sir Earle Page Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Evatt Mr. Fraser Mr. Gaha Mr. Hadley Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway	Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry Mr. Lawson Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams **Tellers:** Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Menzies (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That Mr. Cameron be granted an extension of time. Question—put.

28th September, 1949.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Hadley, in the Chair)—

	Ayes, 24.		Noes, 35.
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Fraser Mr. Gaha Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry	Mr. Lawson Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Sheehy reported accordingly.

Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. Adjournment.—Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at fourteen minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Abbott, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Burke, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Howse, Mr. James, Mr. Lazzarini, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. Rosevear and Mr. Scullin.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.