THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 115.

WEDNESDAY, 21st SEPTEMBER, 1949.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING .- Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m. Question-put and passed.
- 3. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Arbitration (Public Service) Act—Determinations by the Arbitrator, &c.—1949— No. 64—Commonwealth Public Service Artisans' Association.

No. 65—Transport Workers' Union of Australia.

No. 66—Association of Architects, Engineers, Surveyors and Draughtsmen of Australia. No. 67—Commonwealth Medical Officers' Association.

Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointments—Department—

Defence—R. N. Thompson.

Works and Housing-A. E. Morrell, H. W. Sando, W. H. Sloan.

- Seat of Government (Administration) Act Statement of Receipts and Expenditure for year 1948-49.
- 4. Supply -Budget Debate.—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 1.— Senate-namely-

Salaries and allowances

.. £12,400

be agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Burke reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Dedman (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seventeen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT .- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Cameron, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Howse, Mr. James, Dame Enid Lyons, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Scullin, Mr. Spender and Mr. Ward.

> F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.