THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 90.

WEDNESDAY, 8TH JUNE, 1949.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— Tariff Board—Report—Felt for use in the manufacture of Tennis Balls.

 Ordered to lie on the Table.
- 3. Adjournment-Motion for Purpose of Discussion.—Mr. Lang rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The necessity for a public inquiry into charges made by Dr. V. H. Webster and other medical officers of the Northern Territory, the circumstances surrounding Dr. Webster's dismissal as Government Medical Officer at Tennant Creek, certain action taken by the Director-General of Health at Canberra, and the standard of medical services extended to the residents of the Northern Territory, including the native population".

Mr. Deputy Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly—

Mr. Lang moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Harrison moved, That Mr. Beale be granted an extension of time.

Question-put and negatived.

Debate continued.

Ordered—That Mr. Blain be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

Closure.—Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question be now put. Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 30. Noes, 21. Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Adermann Mr. Barnard Dame Enid Lyons Mr. McEwen Mr. Bowden Mr. Beazley Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. Cameron Mr. Menzies Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Rankin Mr. Brennan Mr. O'Connor Mr. Davidson Mr. Calwell Mr. Pollard Mr. Fadden Mr. Ryan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Gullett Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Mr. Chambers Mr. Hamilton Mr. Chifley Mr. Conelan Mr. Sheehy Mr. Harrison Mr. Thompson Mr. Howse Mr. Hughes Mr. Dedman Tellers:Mr. Drakeford Mr. Ward Mr. Duthie Mr. Watkins Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Corser Mr. Williams Mr. McDonald Mr. Edmonds Mr. Lang Mr. Fraser Tellers: Mr. Holloway Mr. Fuller Mr. Johnson Mr. Sheehan Mr. Langtry

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and negatived.

4. Supply Bill (No. 1) 1949-50.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House-

Mr. Deputy Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 2 to 5 agreed to.

Schedule-

"Parliament, £106,050"—agreed to.

"Parliament, £106,050"—agreed to.
"Prime Minister's Department, £1,107,530"—agreed to.
"Department of External Affairs, £333,720"—debated and agreed to.
"Department of the Treasury, £1,449,670"—debated and agreed to.
"Attorney-General's Department, £202,710"—debated and agreed to.
"Department of the Interior, £501,050"—debated and agreed to.
"Department of Works and Housing, £753,860"—debated and agreed to.
"Department of Civil Aviation, £1,542,510"—agreed to.
"Department of Trade and Customs, £521,900"—agreed to.
"Department of Health, £163,620"—debated and agreed to.
"Department of Commerce and Agriculture, £290.830"—debated.

"Department of Commerce and Agriculture, £290,830"—debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Lazzarini reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Holloway (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at eight minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Abbott, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Haylen, Mr. James, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Rosevear and Mr. Scullin.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.