THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 86.

WEDNESDAY, 1st JUNE, 1949.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Australian Youth—Correspondence between the Minister for Immigration and organizations alleged to represent the Youth of Australia regarding a request to the Minister for him to receive a deputation from such organizations.

 Ordered to lie on the Table.
- 3. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS.—Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow. Debate ensued.

 Question—put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 32.		Noes, 26.	
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Chifley Mr. Conclan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Falstein Mr. Fraser Mr. Hadley Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway	Mr. Johnson Mr. Langtry Ma. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Tellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan	Mr. Abbott Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt	Noes, 26. Mr. Howse Mr. Lang Mr. McBride Mr. Menzies Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald
	1		

- And so it was resolved in the affirmative.
- 4. War-time Refugees Removal Bill 1949.—Mr. Calwell (Minister for Immigration) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to provide for the Removal from Australia of certain Persons who entered Australia during the Period of Hostilities.

 Question--put and passed.
- Immigration Bill 1949.—Mr. Calwell (Minister for Immigration) moved, pursuant to notice, That he
 have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Immigration Act 1901-1948, and for other
 purposes.
 Question—put and passed.
- APPROPRIATION BILL (No. 2) 1948-49.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Member named and suspended.—Mr. Deputy Speaker named the Right Honorable Member for Kooyong (Mr. Menzies) for persistently interjecting.

Mr. Calwell (Minister for Information) moved, That the Right Honorable Member for Kooyong be suspended from the service of the House.

Question—put.

F.4574

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)-

Ay	yes, 34.		Noes, 26.
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Lang	Mr. Abbott	Mr. Howse
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Langtry	Mr. Adermann	Mr. Hughes
Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Anthony	Dame Enid Lyons
Mr. Burke	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Beale	Mr. McBride
Mr. Calwell	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Menzies
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Cameron	Mr. Rankin
Mr. Chiffey	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Ryan
Mr. Daly	Mr. Russell	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Spende r
Mr. Dedman	Mr. Scully	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Sheehy	Mr. Francis	Mr. White
Mr. Duthie	Mr. Thompson	Mar. Gullett	m.11
Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Ward	Mr. Hamilton	Tellers:
Mr. Falstein	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Corser
Mr. Fraser	Mr. Williams	Mr. Holt	Mr. McDonald
Mr. Hadley	ar 11		
Mr. Haylen	Tellers:	ļ	
Mr. Holloway	Mr. Fuller		
Mr. Johnson	Mr. Sheehan		
And so it was resolved i	in the affirmative.		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The Right Honorable Member was, therefore, under Standing Order No. 59, suspended for the remainder of the day's sitting, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.

Mr. Calwell addressing the House-

Closure of Member moved.—Mr. Turnbull moved, That the honorable Member be not further heard. Question--put.

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)-

•	1 2 1	•	
	Ayes, 25.		Noes, 34.
Mr. Abbott	Mr. Howse	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Lang
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Beazley	Mr. Langtry
Mr. Anthony	Dame Enid Lyons	Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. Lemmon
Mr. Beale	Mr. McBride	Mr. Burke	Mr. McLeod
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Calwell	Mr. O'Connor
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Spender	Mr. Chifley	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Turnbull	Mr. Daly	Mr. Russell
Mr. Falkinder	Mr. White	Mr. Dedman	Mr. Scully
Mr. Francis		Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Sheehy
Mr. Gullett	m n .	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Hamilton	Tellers:	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Ward
Mr. Harrison	Mr. Corser	Mr. Falstein	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Holt	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Fraser	Mr. Williams
		Mr. Hadley	Tellers:
		Mr. Haylen	
		Mr. Holloway	Mr. Fuller
		Mr. Johnson	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Calwell continuing to address the House and not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 257B-

Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the honorable Member be granted an extension of time.

Question—put.
The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—

The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—			
	Ayes, 33.		Noes, 26.
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Langtry	y Mr. Abbott	Mr. Howse
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Adermann	Mr. Hughes
Mrs. Blackbu rn	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Anthony	Mr. Hutchinson
Mr. Burke	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Beale	Dame Enid Lyons
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Bowden	Mr. McBride
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Cameron	Mr. Rankin
Mr. Daly	Mr. Russell	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Ryan
Mr. Dedman	Mr. Scully	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Spender
Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Sheehy	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Duthie	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Francis	Mr. White
Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Ward	Mr. Gullett	Tellers:
Mr. Falstein	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Hamilton	1 etters.
Mr. Fraser	Mr. Williams	Mr. Harrison	Mr. Corser
Mr. Hadley		Mr. Folt	Mr. McDonald
Mr. Haylen	Tellers:	l	
Mr. Holloway		1	
Mr. Johnson	Mr. Fuller	1.	
Mr. Lang	Mr. Sheehan	1	
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.			

Debate continued.

Mr. Holt moved, That Mr. Harrison be granted an extension of time.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Acting Deputy Speaker, Mr. Sheehy, in the Chair)-

	Ayes, 27.		Noes, 31.
Mr. Abbott Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis	Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Lang Dame Enid Lyons Mr. McBride Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mr. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie	Mr. Langtry Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward
Mr. Gullett Mr. Gullett Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Howse	Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Dutnie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Falstein Mr. Fraser Mr. Hadley Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Mr. Johnson	Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams T'ellers: Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Edmonds moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Scully (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at four minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Blain, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Gaha, Mr. James, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Rosevear and Mr. Scullin.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.