# THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

#### REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

## No. 141.

### FRIDAY, 11TH JUNE, 1948.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.--Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING .- Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m. Question-put and passed.
- 3. QANTAS EMPIRE AIRWAYS BILL 1948.—Mr. Drakeford (Minister for Civil Aviation) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to approve the purchase by the Commonwealth of certain Shares in Qantas Empire Airways Limited and subscription by the Commonwealth to issues of Capital by that Company, and for other purposes. Question—put and passed.

Mr. Drakeford then brought up the Bill accordingly, and moved, That it be now read a first time. Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Mr. Drakeford moved, by leave, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Mr. Harrison (Acting Leader of the Opposition) moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question-That the debate be now adjourned-put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. SUPPLY BILL (No. 1) 1948-49 .- The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed. Mr. Holt moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question-That the debate be now adjourned-put and passed. Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 5. ADJOURNMENT.---Mr. Dedman (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question-put and passed.
- And then the House, at fifteen minutes to one o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Blain, Mr. Burke, Mr. Calwell, Mr. Hadley, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Hutchinson, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. McBride, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Rankin, Mr. Scullin, Mr. Thompson and Mr. Watkins.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Camberra.

5