THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 39.

FRIDAY, 18TH APRIL, 1947.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment .-- Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Adjournment-Motion for Purpose of Discussion .- Sir Earle Page rose in his place, and said that he proposed to move the adjournment of the House for the purpose of discussing a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely, "The desperate food shortages in Britain, and the methods by which Australia could give immediate and permanent help to the people of Britain in their distress?
 - Mr. Speaker thereupon called upon those Members who approved of the proposed discussion to rise in their places, and more than the necessary number of Members having risen accordingly-

Sir Earle Page moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Ordered—That Sir Earle Page be granted an extension of time.

Debate ensued.

Ordered -That Mr. Pollard (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture) be granted an extension of time.

Debate continued.

- The debate having been continued for two hours, it was terminated in accordance with Standing Order No. 257B.
- 3. COMMONWEALTH CONCILIATION AND ARBITRATION BILL 1947.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time-Debate resumed.

Mr. McBride moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. ADJOURNMENT .-- Mr. Evatt (Attorney-General) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-five minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Beale, Mr. Blain, Mr. Cameron, Mr. Daly, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Edmonds, Mr. Fadden, Mr. Francis, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Hadley, Mr. Harrison, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. James, Mr. Johnson, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Scully, Mr. Sheehy and Mr. Spender.

> F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.