THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 133.

THURSDAY, 1st AUGUST, 1946.

- The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Public Works Committee—Report.—Mr. James (Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works:—

Report relating to the proposed Batman Automatic Telephone Exchange, Flinders-lane, Melbourne.

Ordered to be printed.

- 3. SINGAPORE EXPLOIT, 1943—AWARDS FOR GALLANTRY—MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.—Mr. Forde (Acting Minister for Defence), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement announcing to the House the awards for gallantry conferred upon certain British and Australian officers and men of the Services who, in 1943, after a hazardous journey, entered Japanese-occupied territory and carried out a successful attack on enemy shipping in Singapore harbour.
- 4. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Royal Highness the Governor-General—

United Nations—Atomic Energy Commission—Statement of Australia's participation. Ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Civil Aviation—A. F. Kurrle.

National Security Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1946, No. 125.

Post and Telegraph Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1946, No. 118.

 COAL INDUSTRY BILL 1946.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Mr. Menzies (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That Mr. Hughes be granted an extension of time. Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Rosevear, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 24.			Noes, 36.			
Mr. Abbott	Mr. McDonald	1	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Johnson		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. McEwen		Mr. K. E. Beazley	Mr. Lazzarini		
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Menzies		Mr. Breen	Mr. Lemmon		
Mr. Bowden	Sir Earle Page		Mr. Bryson	Mr. Martens		
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Rankin		Mr. Burke	Mr. Morgan .		
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Ryan	1	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Mountjoy		
Mr. Francis	Mr. Spender		Mr. Chifley	Mr. Mulcahy		
Mr. Gullett	Mr. Turnbull		Mr. Conelan	Mr. Pollard		
Mr. Harrison	Mr. White		Mr. Daly	Mr. Riordan		
Mr. Holt	/T all and .	1	Mr. Dedman	'Mr. Russell		
Mr. Hughes	Tellers:	1	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Scully		
Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Corser		Mr. Falstein	Mr. Sheehy		
Dame Enid Lyons	Mr. Guy		Mr. Forde	Mr. Smith		
-		1	Mr. Fraser	Mr. Ward		
			Mr. Frost	Mr. Williams		
	•		Mr. Gaha	m.n.		
		ļ	Mr. Haylen	Tellers:		
			Mr. Holloway	Mr. Fuller		
			Mr. James	Mr. Sheehan		

And so it was negatived. Debate continued.

And the House continuing to sit until after midnight-

FRIDAY, 2ND AUGUST, 1946.

Debate continued.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Rosevear, in the Chair)-

Mr. Barnard Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Abl Mr. K. E. Beazley Mr. Lemmon Mr. Ade Mr. Breen Mr. Makin Mr. And Mr. Bryson Mr. Morgan Mr. Box Mr. Burke Mr. Mountjoy Mr. Can Mr. Calwell Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Fac Mr. Conelan Mr. Pollard Mr. Fra Mr. Daly Mr. Riordan Mr. Gul Mr. Dedman Mr. Russell Mr. Ha Mr. Drakeford Mr. Scully Mr. Ho. Mr. Falstein Mr. Sheehy Mr. Hu Mr. Frost Mr. Ward Mr. Gaha Mr. Williams Mr. Hadley Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Fuller Mr. Johnson Mr. Sheehan	ermann Mr. McEwen Chony Mr. Rankin Weden Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Iden Mr. Turnbull Incis Iett Tellers:

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.—Bill read a second time.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clauses 1 to 3 agreed to.

Clause 4-

Mr. Harrison moved, as an amendment, That the definition of "coal" (page 2, lines 27 and 28) be omitted.

Debate ensued.

Question-That the definition proposed to be omitted stand part of the clause-put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Riordan, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 33.		Noes, 19.			
Mr. Barnard Mr. K. E. Beazley Mr. Breen Mr. Bryson Mr. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Falstein Mr. Fraser Mr. Frost Mr. Faller Mr. Gaha Mr. Hadley Mr. Holloway	Mr. Johnson Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Lemmon Mr. Makin Mr. Morgan Mr. Mountjoy Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Pollard Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. Ward Mr. Williams Tellers: Mr. Sheehan	Mr. Abbott Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Fadden Mr. Francis Mr. Gullett Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. Guy		
Mr. James	Mr. Smith				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

On the motion of Mr. Dedman (Minister representing the Minister for Supply and Shipping), the following amendment was made:—
Page 2, line 36, omit "accepted", insert "excepted".

Clause, as amended, agreed to.

Clause 5-

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Riordan reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee. 1st and 2nd August, 1946.

6.	ADJOURNMENTMr.	. Chifley (Prim	e Minister)	moved,	That the I	House do	now	adjourn.
	Question—put and		•					•

And then the House at five minutes to three o'clock in the morning, adjourned until this day at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. J. A. Beasley, Mr. Blain, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clark, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Langtry, Mr. Lawson, Mr. McLeod, Sir Frederick Stewart, and Mr. Watkins.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

The contract of the contract o

.

.