THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 13.

TUESDAY, 10TH MAY, 1938.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MUNITIONS SUPPLY BOARD-REPORT-MOTION FOR PRINTING PAPER.-Mr. Thorby (Minister for Defence) laid upon the Table, by command of His Excellency the Administrator, the following Paper:

Munitions Supply Board-Report for period 1st July, 1935, to 30th June, 1937; together with Report of the Commonwealth Government Clothing Factory.

Mr. Curtin (Leader of the Opposition) moved, That the Paper be printed.

Debate ensued.

Question—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 29.		Noes, 29.	
Mr. Baker	Mr. Makin	Mr. Anthony	Mr. McEwen
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Martens	Mr. Badman	Mr. Nairn
Mr. Beasley	Mr. Mulcahy	Mr. Cameron	Mr. Perkins
Mr. Blackburn	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Casey	Mr. Price
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Collins	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Curtin ·	Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Rankin
Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Francis	Mr. Stacey
Mr. Forde	Mr. Scully	Mr. Harrison	Sir Frederick Stewart
Mr. Frost	$\mathbf{Mr.}$ Sheehan	Mr. Holt	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Green	Mr. Ward	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Thorby
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Hawker		Mr. Jennings	
Mr. Holloway	Tellers:	Mr. Jolly	Tellers:
Mr. James	1 611613.	Mr. Lane	2 000013.
Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Gander	Mr. John Lawson	Mr. Gardner
Mr. Mahoney	Mr. George Lawson	Mr. Lyons	Mr. Nock
	// 1 11 7 /1 (CAT 11 7		7.1

The numbers for the "Ayes" and the "Noes" being equal, Mr. Speaker gave his casting vote with the "Noes".

And so it was negatived.

- 3. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute— Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointment of J. M. Fielding, Department of the Interior.
- 4. Message from the Senate.—Loan Bill 1938.—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate :-

Message No. 9.

The Senate returns to the House of Representatives the Bill for "An Act to authorize the Raising and Expending of a certain Sum of Money", and acquaints the House that the Senate has agreed to the Bill without amendment.

P. J. LYNCH,

President.

The Senate. Canberra, 5th May, 1938.

5. Message from the Administrator.—Assent to Bill.—The following Message from His Excellency the Administrator of the Government of the Commonwealth was received, and was read by Mr. Speaker:

HUNTINGFIELD,

Administrator.

Message No. 10.

A Proposed Law intituled "Loan Act 1938" as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Administrator of the Government of the Commonwealth for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Law.

Government House,

Canberra, 6th May, 1938.

6. Ways and Means [Customs Tariff Amendment (No. 1)] .- The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Ways and Means.

(In the Committee.)

[See proposed Resolution for Customs Tariff Amendment of the 8th December, 1937 (pages 23-54)]. General debate ensued on the first Item.

Mr. Forde addressing the Committee and not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 257B-

Ordered—That the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech.

Debate continued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. John Lawson reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

7. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Casey (Treasurer) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

The House continuing to sit until after midnight-

WEDNESDAY, 11TH MAY, 1938.

Debate continued. Question—put and passed.

"And then the House, at five minutes past twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until this day at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Blain, Mr. Clark, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Maloney, Sir Charles Marr, Mr. McCall, Mr. Menzies, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Paterson, Mr. Scholfield, Mr. Spender, and Mr. White.

> F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.