THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 146.

THURSDAY, 10TH DECEMBER, 1936.

1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.

2. ADJOURNMENT. -Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Curtin (Leader of the Opposition) proposing to move, as an amendment, That all the words after "That" be omitted with a view to the insertion of the following words :---" the following resolution be transmitted through His Excellency the Governor-General, to His Majesty the King :-

'We the Members of the House of Representatives in the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia desire to assure Your Majesty of our loyalty and allegiance, and to express our earnest hope that Your Majesty will not relinquish the Throne '."-

Mr. Baker

Speaker's Ruling .-- The Speaker ruled that no amendment could be moved to the motion for the adjournment of the House.

Mr. Beasley rising to address the House-

Closure.-Mr. Thompson moved, That the question be now put.

Question-That the question be now put-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 39.

Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron	Mr. McCall Mr. McEwen
Sir Donald Cameron	Mr. Menzies
Mr. Casey	Mr. Nairn
Mr. Thomas Collins	Mr. Nock
Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. J. V. Fairbairn	Sir Archdale Parkhill
Mr. Fisken	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Price
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Prowse
Sir Henry Gullett	Mr. Scholfield
Mr. E. F. Harrison	Mr. Stacey
Mr. E. J. Harrison	Sir Frederick Stewart
Mr. Holt	Mr. Street
Mr. Hughes	Mr. Thorby
Mr. Hunter	Mr. White
Mr. Hutchinson	
Mr. Jennings	(n .)
Mr. Lane	Tellers:
Mr. Lyons	Mr. Gardner
Mr. McBride	Mr. Thompson

Noes, 22. Mr. James

Mr.	Barnard	Mr. Lazzarini
Mr.	Beasley	Mr. Makin
Mr.	Blackburn	Mr. Martens
Mr.	Brennan	Mr. Mulcahy
Mr.	Clark	Mr. Rosevear
Mr.	Curtin	Mr. Ward
Mr.	Drakeford	Mr. D. O. Watkins
Mr.	Frost	m 11
Mr.	Garden	Tellers:
	Albert Green	Mr. Gander
Mr.	Holloway	Mr. George Lawson

And so it was resolved in the affirmative. F.4800/34.

And the question—That the House do now adjourn—being accordingly put— The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-Noes, 22. Ayes, 39. Mr. James Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. McCall Mr. A. G. Cameron Mr. McEwen Mr. Baker Mr. Barnard Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Beasley Mr. Makin Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Menzies Mr. Nairn Mr. Blackburn Mr. Martens Mr. Casey Mr. Nock Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Mulcahy Mr. Rosevear Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Earle Page Mr. J. V. Fairbairn Mr. Curtin Mr. Ward Sir Archdale Parkhill Mr. Drakeford Mr. Frost Mr. D. O. Watkins Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Fisken Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Mr. Price Tellers: Mr. Prowse Mr. Garden Sir Henry Gullett Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Albert Green Mr. Scholfield Mr. Gander Mr. Stacey Mr. Holloway Mr. George Lawson Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Street Mr. Hughes Mr. Thorby Mr. White Mr. Hunter Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Jennings Tellers: Mr. Lane Mr. Lyons Mr. Gardner Mr. Thompson Mr. McBride

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at eight minutes to three o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Forde, Mr. Gregory, Mr. Hawker, Mr. John Lawson, Mr. G. W. Mahoney, Mr. W. Maloney, Sir Charles-Marr, Mr. McClelland, Mr. Perkins, and Mr. Scullin.

> E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

804