# THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

### HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### No. 9.

#### FRIDAY, 4TH MARCH, 1932.

- The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. H. Mackay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— British Commonwealth Merchant Shipping Agreement (signed at London, 10th December, 1931).

Postmaster-General's Department-Twenty-first Annual Report, 1930-31.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-

Northern Territory Acceptance Act and Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Reasons for resumption of portion of Reserve at Darwin, together with sketch showing area resumed.

Public Service Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1932, No. 23.

- 3. ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m. Debate ensued.

  Question—put and passed.
- 4. STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, the Prime Minister, the Chairman of Committees, the Leader of the Opposition, Sir Littleton Groom, Mr. Makin and Mr. Earle Page be Members of the Standing Orders Committee; three to form a

quorum. Debate ensued.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Mackay, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 51.	
Mr. Aubrey Abbott	
Mr. Baker	Mr. John Lawson
Mr. Bell	Mr. Lyons
Mr. Blacklow	Mr. Marr
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Maxwell
Mr. Bruce	Mr. McBride
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. McClelland
Mr. Casey	Mr. McNicoll
Mr. Thomas Collins	
Mr. Bernard Corser	
Mr. Dein	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Fenton	Mr. Parkhill
Mr. Forde	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Price
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Scholfield
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Scullin
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Stacey
Sir Littleton Groom	Mr. Frederick Stewart
Mr. E. F. Harrison	
Mr. E. J. Harrison	Mr. William Watson
Mr. Hawker	Mr. White
Mr. Holloway	·
Mr. Hughes	Tellers:
Mr. Hutchin	
Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Gardner
Mr. Jennings	Mr. Hunter

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Noes, 8.

Mr. Beasley Mr. Gabb Mr. Gander Mr. James Mr. W. Maloney

Mr. Rosevear

Tellers:
Mr. Ward
Mr. Watkins

- 5. House Committee.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, the Chairman of Committees, Mr. Gardner, Mr. Hunter, Mr. James, Mr. Martens and Mr. Price be Members of the House Committee; three to form a quorum.

  Question—put and passed.
- 6. Printing Committee.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That Mr. Gander, Mr. Albert Green, Mr. E. F. Harrison, Mr. McBride, Mr. McNicoll, Mr. Frederick Stewart and Mr. Thompson be Members of the Printing Committee; three to form a quorum, with power to confer with a similar Committee of the Senate.
- 7. LIBRARY COMMITTEE.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That Mr. Speaker, Mr. Aubrey Abbott, Mr. Hughes, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Nairn, Mr. Rosevear and Mr. White be Members of the Library Committee; three to form a quorum.

  Question—put and passed.
- 8. INSURANCE BILL (1932).—The Order of the Day having been read for the second reading—Mr. Bruce (Assistant Treasurer) moved, That the Bill be now read a second time.

  Mr. Blakeley moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

  Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

  Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.
- 9. Adjournment.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

  Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at five o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Dennis, Mr. Guy, Mr. Hill, Mr. Holman, Mr. Latham, Mr. Makin, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Perkins, Mr. E. C. Riley, and Mr. Thorby.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.